Art Attack! #77: Three French Hens 🐔 (Christmas Countdown Challenge #3)

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So if you missed the last few posts, I started sharing the process behind one of my biggest art challenges ever - the Christmas Countdown Challenge - where I draw pieces according to the song; The 12 Days of Christmas!

I'm sure everyone is familiar with that song and last week, we stopped at the second day - two turtle doves!

Anyway, the next line of the song is 'On the third day of Christmas, my true love sent to me, Three french hens, Two turtle doves, and A partridge in a pear tree'.

So for three french hens, the first thing I thought of was definitely the hens from Stardew Valley! If you've kept up with my posts, you'd know that Stardew Valley is one of my favourite games of all time! Stardew Valley is a very charming 2D indie farming simulator where you can farm, mine, fish or make friends with the other residents of Pelican Town! And if you've played Stardew before, you'd know the chickens in that game are just the cutest!

image.png

Source: Reddit

So this was the reference I was following, but the problem was translating the pixel graphics into smooth line art! I think I managed pretty well though!

image.png

And yes those are the 4 colours of chickens you can get in the game! But since the song only calls for 3 hens, I had to leave one out, unfortunately.

image.png

And the reason why I left the black chicken out was because I was going to make them "french" by drawing the hens wearing french maid dresses! Which are primarily black and white so..

It was actually kinda challenging since I couldn't find any drawings of chickens wearing french maid outfits, so I only had these to reference:

image.png

Source: Pinterest

I had to imagine what the hens would look like wearing the dresses, so I tried my best and I got this:

image.png

It actually looked pretty good, and I wanted different styles for each of the hens so we get this:

image.png

But I realised it looked a little weird so I changed it to the apron at the front.

image.png

And for the last hen:

image.png

I didn't want to cover the fabulous tail so I just drew the tail sticking out since that's my favourite part of the blue chicken.

And I didn't know what to do with the background so I decided to draw them in the coop of course.

image.png

But then I realised they were all too in front so I had to space them out a little better. And blend the windows more so it looks like the sunlight is coming through the windows. And in the end, we got this!

image.png

The background is pretty simple, but I wanted the hens to be the focus of course. Plus I was running out of time since I only had a couple hours to finish this piece. So I was happy with this. The chickens looked cute and they didn't look too odd with the french maid dresses either!

I shared this on the Stardew Valley subreddit and it actually got quite a few upvotes and wholesome comments too! The Stardew subreddit is definitely my favourite subreddit because it's so wholesome and sweet everytime I post my art on there. It's probably the most wholesome subreddit on the site ngl. Definitely join it if you play the game!

https://www.reddit.com/r/StardewValley/comments/kebkdy/i_drew_three_french_hens_for_christmas_3/

Alrighty that's all for today! Tune in next week for day 4!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
Art Attack! #76: Two Turtle Doves 🕊 (Christmas Countdown Challenge #2)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency