Art Attack! #76: Two Turtle Doves 🕊 (Christmas Countdown Challenge #2)

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So last week, I started sharing the process behind one of my biggest art challenges ever - the Christmas Countdown Challenge - where I draw pieces according to the song; The 12 Days of Christmas!
I'm sure everyone is familiar with that song, and last week I started with a partridge in a pear tree!

image.png

But instead of starting from Christmas Day, I thought it'd be more fitting to count down to Christmas instead, so I started posting these on 13 Dec 2020 so that I'll end it on 24th and have a special Christmas-themed piece I drew for my girl friends on the 25th!

Anyway, for day 2 of my challenge, the second line goes 'On the second day of Christmas, my true love sent to me, Two turtle doves, and A partridge in a pear tree'.

I knew there were some doves in Hatoful Boyfriend too, although they might not be turtle doves specifically. For those who aren't familiar with Hatoful Boyfriend, it's... a pigeon dating sim with quite the backstory and lore that is actually pretty deep considering the concept behind the game.

Anyway, I know Fujishiro Nageki is a Mourning Dove, which is actually quite ironic if you knew his story.

image.png

Source: Hatoful Boyfriend Wiki

For the other dove, I decided on Ryouta Kawara, whom is actually a Rock Dove.

image.png

Source: Hatoful Boyfriend Wiki

For the setting, I was initially thinking of a library since Nageki basically lives in the library, but then I remembered my favourite background in Animal Crossing Pocket Camp, and it was a cafe that looked something like this! The wallpaper is probably one of my favourite backgrounds.

image.png

Source: Pinterest

And since Ryouta actually dresses like a maid in-game at some point (sorry, spoilers), so I thought of combining a library and a cafe!

image.png

Source: Pocket Gamer

Anyway, I didn't really have much time for this piece so I had to trace the birds for this one. We start with Nageki reading a book:

image.png

And coloured:

image.png

Then I sorta traced Ryouta using this picture of Okosan as reference.

image.png

Source: Redbubble

I thought it'd be cool to draw him serving Nageki some coffee or something, so we get this:

image.png

And coloured:

image.png

Then it was time to work on the background! I used a picture of the Animal Crossing Pocket Camp wallpaper to colour source the sunset background, and drew some simple bookshelves in the back.

image.png

And after fully colouring, we finally get this!

image.png

I realised a little too late that I screwed up the one of the floor tiles in the corner though. But I had already posted it by then and it was too late to repost. Oh well, I think no one really noticed so it's fine. But I loved how the whole piece came out! The background is simple, and doesn't take away from the main subjects, which are the birbs obviously, but it still complements them and doesn't look too muted either.

Overall, I really loved this piece! And I guess doing "simple" drawings went right out the window, but I wouldn't have it any other way. I might have to take a few shortcuts but I'm happy with these pieces. They're not specifically Christmas-related so they can still stand the test of time in that sense. Stay tuned next week to see day 3!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack! #75: A Partridge in a Pear Tree 🌳 (Christmas Countdown Challenge #1)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency