Interview with Game Developer & Crypto Artist Caroline Dy

Today let's talk to the talented Caroline Dy of DrawWritePlay.com

Caroline, could you describe your experience of using NFTs to sell your art?

I got into minting and selling my art as NFTs through my friend - Gabby Dizon's - suggestion. He was the one who told me about Rarible, which is where I first started selling my work. Gabby supported me throughout the entire process, buying my very first NFT, and then promoting my work through Twitter.

It was definitely a crazy first few months because I was trying to learn all that I could about blockchain and the crypto art scene, trying to keep up with Twitter, while also making my own art to sell - all this while still working full-time as a game developer.

Things started to slow down a bit as Rarible got more and more popular, and I started shifting my attention towards more art-focused platforms while trying to refine my work and process.

Tell us about this piece:

ETH in Mind is one of the earliest pieces I've made since joining the crypto art world. It's a bit of a stylized self-portait, reflecting my own experience with ETH and how I couldn't get it off my mind as I tried to think of all the applications for it (from NFTs, blockchain games and virtual worlds). I tried learning it all at the start before I really focused on my art.

How much time do you spend connecting & getting the word out about your art?

I don't really get to spend as much time on promoting my work as I'd like to, mostly since my day job takes up a lot of my mindspace, but I try to engage as much as I can on Twitter whenever I get a break. This is something I'm currently working on to be better at, and I'm very lucky to have found some great friends in the community who help retweet and help promote my work when I have something new.

If you could go back in time what would you tell yourself when you were first beginning in your art career

If I could go back in time, I'd probably tell my younger self to not be so hard on myself and to just try your best and never stop learning.

There's a quote I heard recently that really resonated with me, it went something like "you don't have to win every contest; you just have to show up."

Thanks for sharing with us, Caroline!

If you are interested in purchasing Caroline's art or would like to follow her work on social media you can find her on Instagram and Twitter. If you purchase her art because of reading this, let her know (not because I get anything out of it, but out of interest.)

*Finally, there's a decentralized search engine rewarding people for using the power of blockchain technology that I've just started using. You can join through my invite link here and let me know what you think! Presearch https://presearch.org/signup?rid=2214411

Presearch.png

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

My personal Hive @jonamccallum / Telegram (Say hi on Discord streamjonathan#9531 )

eth_eye.pngSee Caroline's Eth in Mind: https://app.cargo.build/collectible/0x42ea135d8e9e90657D6d5F715f59794c68BE7f17/109

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency