Joined A Coloring Contest!!! (MAN WITH A MISSION)

blue.jpg

About a week ago, I came across a post of MAN WITH A MISSION on Facebook holding a coloring contest due on June 24. (You can upload on the Facebook post's comment section or post on Twitter with the hash tag #MWAMFanArt. I uploaded my entry on Twitter.) I've never done a fan art for this band because drawing a wolf seems difficult for me. (Or am I just lazy. Lol.) Since this contest is easier because you only have to color, I decided to join.

MAN WITH A MISSION (MWAM) is a Japanese band established in 2010 with five members, Jean-Ken-Johnny (guitar, vocals and rap), Spear Rib (drums), Kamikaze Boy (bass and backing vocals), Tokyo Tanaka (main vocals and leader), and DJ Santa Monica (DJ and sampling). What makes this band different from the rest are their wolf head costumes. They wear it every time when they perform on stage or even out in public and so no one knows how these band members look like. Well, except for their management and crew, of course. I wonder if they could breathe fine while performing or could they probably see the instruments they're playing? I have a couple of questions regarding their wolf costume. But they've been doing that in the past 10 years, so maybe it's fine or they just got used to it.

I don't know much of the band, actually, but I listen to a couple of their songs because they're really good! Jean-Ken-Johnny and Tokyo Tanaka's voice complement really well. Plus points because they sing in English. Jean-Ken speaks English fluently but with a little Japanese accent sometimes.

Going back to the contest, I started doing mine an hour before the deadline. To be honest, I don't know what timezone are they following, Japan..US? All they said was June 24. But I assume it must be Japan Time, so I rushed coloring each five members. However, it looks like I miscalculated my speed because it took me about 4 hours to finish it. Lol! I consumed my time figuring out how to properly color without ruining the line art and also coloring the characters without blending it to the background color. There's a lot of clipping, selecting, and erasing for this art which I never expected.

Here's the line art posted by MAN WITH A MISSION. I made it into a collage for this post only.

white%20.jpg

The winners will be chosen by the members themselves. Starting June 29, each member will choose the piece they like and the winners will get a signed poster from them. I also posted the wrong pieces and posted the ones without the grain effect. I'm kind of disappointed with myself, really.

Anyway, the background I drew for them is a night sky with a full moon and a rock where they stood. The full moon is inspired from a shot of the moon on their "Fly Again" 2019 live music video. Besides, wolves and the moon are connected together, right? I also made their eyes glow because it looks cool. It was also inspired from the music video.

Here are the pieces I colored, now with the grain effect. Errr.. I still can't get over my mistake. This one with the effect looks better. I even forgot to put a highlight on Jean-Ken's face on the left side. :'(

mwam%20dj%20santa%20monica.png

mwam%20jean%20ken.png

mwam%20kamikaze.png

mwam%20spear%20rib.png

mwam%20tokyo%20tanaka.png

Uhmm... I hope my entry gets picked even though there are lots of other amazing entries. Please wish me luck! >.<

You can also Follow and Subscribe to my Instagram and Youtube channel.

Thank you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency