A Decade And Three In The Rain with coldrain (A Fan Art I Submitted Two Years Ago)

Hello! This is an old fan art I drew two years ago. I was supposed to post this last April 17 for the band's 13th anniversary but I posted my Taka fan art instead. Happy Birthday Taka! (Birthday Fan Art)

Since my hands and mind is busy editing a video commission, I have no time to do new drawings so might as well post my Masato fan art. Hehe!




oor45_%20masato%20100.jpg


coldrain is a Japanese rock band consisting of five members: Masato (vocals), Katsuma (drums), Ryo (bass), Sugi (guitar), and YKC (guitar). Most of their songs are in English, thanks to their half-American half-Japanese vocalist. They have made a couple of albums with their latest "The Side Effects". The band is a staple on Japan music festivals and are also invited on some music festivals abroad, sometimes touring together with ONE OK ROCK. coldrain's biggest solo concert venue was at the Nippon Buduokan. They performed with an orchestra too.



DRAWING PROCESS:


So the subject for my coldrain fan art is Masato. I want to draw every member but I find it difficult to find a decent side view photo of them.

If you have seen my post about my fan art of Taka, the process is just the same for this piece.



oor45_-masato-100.gif



1.) Trace the shape with solid color.

2.) Add shadows using darker colors to begin creating the shapes of the eyes, nose, lips, jaw, hair, etc. Then add lighter colors to create the semi-realistic effect.

3.) For the hair, I use thick and thin brush size then smooth out the inner line edges using the color mix tool.

4.) For the sloppy paint effect at the bottom of the clothes, I use a brush named "Pure Paint". Brush it on different pen pressures for effect. :)

5.) Create a circle using a brush. Increase the size of the brush.


This art was made last 2018 as an entry for coldrain's global fan club project for the celebration of coldrain's 10th year anniversary. It was printed and compiled in an art book called coldrain worldwide.



cr.jpg

cr3.jpg




A photo of confirmation that coldrain have received the fan project.



cr2.jpg


I am not a die hard follower of the band and just found out about the project by chance. I thought it's awesome and perfect chance for my art to reach them so I decided to join and contribute and represent my country because coldrain fans in my country aren't as many as ONE OK ROCK fans. Hehe! I genuinely like their songs too! The lyrics are good and relatable. If you like loud sound with some growls and emo-type of lyrics then you should definitely check out coldrain!

Honestly, they're one of the amazing bands out there but sadly underrated. Ugh!


Follow me on Instagram and subscribe to my Youtube channel!

Good morning!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency