Candy Tube - Adobe Dimension Material Tests

Here is another strange form of geometry I made in 3ds max for material tests in Adobe Dimension.
Tube2View 4.jpg
This was created from a primitive cylinder with edit poly applied to it to give it a wavy form. I then inset each polygon and duplicated the faces to a separate object to get the round shapes. Finally I added a turbosmooth onto everything to round it all out.
Tube2View 6.jpg
Here is a material test using a gradient as the environment map to reflect light off the metallic and glass materials.
Tube2View 5.jpg
This is a blueish purple metal material I applied to the geometry. You can sneak a peak into the gaps to see the inside of the tube.
Tube2View 3.jpg
Now for some views inside the tube. It has a maze-like cobblestone feel to it.
Tube2View 2.jpg
Here is a blend between a few materials from inside the tube. This would work perfectly for a flythrough animation.
Tube2View 1.jpg
This one has a lava feel to it. I like to play around with abstract shapes and materials from time to time to learn more about the 3d software. Most of my days are spent making photorealistic architectural renderings for my full time job. So this gives me a chance to get out of the formal workflow and learn new techniques that might come in handy for photorealistic real-world applications.

Thanks for looking :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency