Chrono Cross World

Hi there!

I made this for composer John Paul Hayward and it's the first of a few I'll be posting.
This project revolved around the videogame Chrono Cross and this particular artwork, which was used as the digipack cover, was to rebuild the game's world from a new perspective.


cover-art-9---resize.jpg




It's a pretty faithful translation of the whole world. Since I love gaming anyway, I went over and played the game to discover the locations for myself and then reproduce them in the art.
Here's some close ups:


cover-art-7.jpg

cover-art-6.jpg

cover-art-3.jpg




I'm not sure if this will make a lot of sense but this is the world's map and the angle from where I made the shot. Also added are some screenies from the game with areas I recreated. :)


map.jpg

image.png

image.png

image.png




As usual I'd made an animation to show the process. I wanted to spend most of the time on the details so I tried to find photos that would not need very heavy editing for the background and main landscape.


cover-art-animation.gif




Find me elsewhere:

Makersplace
Instagram
Twitter
YouTube
ArtStation
DeviantArt
Behance
Prints and more


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency