PORTRAIT DRAWING OF A LADY (TITLE: SOLACE)

I found real comfort while working on this, deep down, I was in a dark place, but this piece made me feel better and happier. Hence I call it SOLACE

Hello everyone, today I will be sharing one of my most recent work done with charcoal and graphite pencils on a 12 by 15 inches paper. I will be sharing the progress shots and also tell you guys my experience while working on this. The subject is Mrs. Toks and the piece was commissioned by Mr. Olaiya Sesan.

THE STORY BEHIND SOLACE

It all started with a text on WhatsApp, this gentleman told me how he got my contact from a friend and he wants to make a portrait. As usual, I always like to discuss about the timing with my clients before actually showing them the pricelist, because by the grace of God, I don't like disappointing my clients. He told me the day he actually wants it, thats like 5days away, I told him it will be quite challenging because school is still in session and I really work with a particular duration if I'm not actually on holidays. Understand this, if school was actually on holidays, I will finish that in less than 5 days for that particular size. So, ask him to adjust the timing and let's see if I can finish up before then. Afterwards, he gave me the reference image, well, I had to crop the image to get the best out of the drawing. He made deposit (because that's the only thing that will make me start any piece), and then the journey of SOLACE begin.

This particular piece was different for me, because it reminded me why HONESTY is important for everyone trying to grow a brand. Deep into the drawing of SOLACE I noticed because of work I lack enough time to give to the piece that has brought me this height of comfort I'm feeling inside of me. I messaged my client, telling him, I don't think I would be able to finish before that time, he should please send is account details so I can forward the money he deposited (this was after I have sent him some progress shots, and he actually love what he was seeing). I told him, I honestly needed time to detail the face, because I feel that's the major beauty of the piece. I was waiting for his response ( I wouldn't lie, I have cross my heart not to react if he says hurtful words, because I felt like for once, I have disappointed a client 😭😭), but to my surprise, he replied me, saying I should continue with the work, I should take my time to complete it (me in my head, YOU SAY WHAT? ❤️❤️), I was touched by his words when he said he love the progress shots so far and would want me to finish the piece, he said I should continue applying the love I'm putting into the work (inside of me, I cried and fall in love even more with SOLACE).

Now, this is where myself and SOLACE fell in love with each other, like as each stroke from my pencil hit the paper, I saw a part of the art that made me understood why I decided to dive into this part. I saw love being formed on the paper, I saw myself loving the piece even more, because that's the only art technique I know I'm very good at. I love the piece, I was so in love and still in love with SOLACE to the point that, each time I saw the piece on my drawing board, I would say A LOVELY, DADDY MISS YOU, and realising I was actually talking to my drawing, I would laugh at myself, the experience with SOLACE was different, I found real comfort while working on this. And thanks to my client for allowing me feel this experience. I really love that feeling.

The part that hurt me while working on this piece, was when it was actually coming to an end, inside of me, I was asking myself if I will get this feeling again? Don't get me wrong, I put in love when I work on all of my piece, but it was different with SOLACE, she (yes, my arts are ladies, I describe them as she 😂😂😂) made me feel really good, like if SOLACE could speak, I know she will tell me each time I returned from work how much she missed me. 😂😂😂 I'm that crazy about my artworks, but most especially, I am glad I felt really different while working on SOLACE, I felt real peace inside, the connection was different and I love it.

Original Image

Find that thing or that thought that give you comfort and peace inside and hold on to it, it's a beautiful feeling.Thank you for reading my post, I really appreciate my client for the opportunity, I'm grateful. Please support the post with your comments and honest reviews. Also, help re-blog the post. Thank you! If you love this post, don't forget to follow my blog to see subsequent posts, THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG

facebook.pnginstagram.pngtwitter.pngwhatsapp.png
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency