Warmup Sketches

Hey, Everyone!

As an Arts teacher, I use the time when my students are practicing to do some sketching of my own. Here are my warm-up setches from one of the lessons I gave this week.

It began with a few quick poses. The first ones, as usual, were a fail. The 1 minute I set on the timer was enough for just a few strokes and I wasn't quite happy with them.

1.png
(pose reference 1; pose reference 2)

We actually ended up drawing the second pose twice as my students wanted me to help them figure out the movement better; and then did another one for 1 minute.

2.png
(pose reference 1; pose reference 2)

For the next two poses we had 2 minutes each. I had fun figuring out the foreshortening of the arms of the first one (did not do a very good job but... oh, well, they can't all be winners).

3.png
(pose reference 1; pose reference 2)

The final pose was a 5 minute one. This time I concentrated on the movement and some of the anatomical features (e.g. the knee on the right, the transition between the neck and the shoulders, etc.)

4.png
(pose reference)

Finally, after drawing all the poses, we shaded them. The exercise was, again, timed - we had only 1 minute for each pose. That helped my students (and, honestly, me as well) not to get caught up in all the small and unimportant details, and concentrate on the broader shadows. I love the result - even the sketches I didn't like turned out good after the shading!

5.png

All in all, the whole warmup took us about half an hour and it was really interesting and helpful both for my students and for myself.

I hope you like it, too!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency