Unveiling My Latest Commissioned Work - Pen Drawing

Finally, the long awaiting commissioned piece has been completed and I am happy how everything turned out. I would say this is my best and pen drawing so far. Approximately 261 hours of intensive work under the period of one month and three weeks gave rise to this full portraiture of 40.64 by 50.8 cm.

PhotoGrid_1587633411251.jpg

Looking back to see how far I have gone drawing with pencil, I realized I have improved - it might not be so much but every little progress counts.

My goal with every new piece I start is to do better than my previous ones. So I try to give my all, exercise patience, persevere and discover new things. I also try to use another style because every new piece brings with it a new challenge.

I knew it was going to be a tough challenge ahead so I stood up for it. My friends do come around and say "Hey buddy, you haven't finished this work since?." The truth is, you have to enjoy the process and never bother about how long it will take you.

Materials used:

  • Needle point paper
  • Ballpoint pen (blue)
  • Graphic pencil
Below are my detailed steps

Step 1

First and foremost, I started the journey by using a pencil (0.7 graphic) to sketch out my model. This is to ensure accuracy and avoid mistake which will hardly been erased if I had used pen.

PhotoGrid_1587637894391.jpg

Step 2

Thereafter, I worked on the hat. This process lasted for days more than I had expected. It took time because I wanted it to look more realistic.

PhotoGrid_1587637922114.jpg

Step 3

After that, I focused on the left side of his face. I deliberately left the eye to complete it at later stage.

PhotoGrid_1587637934399.jpg

Step 4

The journey continued here. At this stage, I started working on the right side of his face. I Still left both eyes blank.

PhotoGrid_1587637949152.jpg

Step 5

And here is the completed face. I added the eyes and completed the right side which made it appear real.

PhotoGrid_1587638114914.jpg

After completing the face and the neck, I started working on his shirt. I worked on the left side first. This shirt is took a hell of a time itself. I made several layers of inks in order to get my desired tones.

PhotoGrid_1587638124431.jpg

I also followed the same procedure of the previous steps gradually till I completed my work.

PhotoGrid_1587633411251.jpg

Thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
89 Comments
Ecency