An Apple a Day... - still life

IMG_2833xswm.jpg

The saying goes, "an apple a day keeps the doctor away". Fruit have long been associated with good health and fertility. Some fruit such as apples have even been known as the fruit of the gods, granting them immortality as with the Norse myths.

"An Apple a Day...", Leo Plaw, 17 x 12cm, oil on canvas

IMG_2834xsw.jpg

While a deceptively simple image, three apples resting on white boards, when it came time to paint it, there are many surprising details to take care of.

This has been a demonstration for my online art students, showing how you move through image development to the final painting. I've already started on a new still life, for which I am recording a video to show and explain the painting development. I'll be posting about that when it's complete.

Value Study

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency