PORTRAIT STUDY: "AN EYE FOR AN EYE"

IMG_20200902_102105.JPG

Eyes are the window to our soul.

We can all agree that our eyes are very important in our daily lives. We need it to see, find and observe. Personally, I can afford to lose my other senses except of my sight because I strongly believe it makes me to be more appreciative to the thing called life, to enjoy the green scenery, to be amazed by the colors and see different faces and sketching variety of eyes is so vital in terms of portrait studies.

Since I started drawing, I always find it difficult to draw the eyes. Everytime I try to do a portrait I always cross my fingers when I lift my pencil to drawing the eyes and wishing that it will be the same from my reference and, sadly, most of the time it's not. I have to draw it again and again until I will be satisfied of how it looks. Each of us have different and unique eyes which makes it even harder. Back in the days, I have a short patience in terms of doing it or even drawing in general. I am used to fast sketches. I want to get it done as soon as possible. But then I realize that you have to take your time just like in learning we can't just rush everything because it is a process. You have to digest everything and comprehend every piece of it.

Today I want to show you some of my eye studies from the book "Drawing Portraits, Faces and Figures" by Giovannni Cavardi. Dive in hivers and I'll show you.

hive dividers-04.png

SKETCHES

hive dividers-04.png

IMG_20200826_111018 (2).jpg
First, I have to learn the parts, structure and placement of an eye. I was so flabbergasted by the terms that were being shown. I really find this art book by Giovanni Cavardi very informative. He was able to educate me about many things. In this illustration, I used a black ball pen so that it will be really clear and visible when I am going to read the labels.

IMG_20200902_102148.JPG
We also have a set of different angles of an eyeball. This generally shows the placement of the iris and the pupil which the latter is really darker than the former.

IMG_20200902_102633.JPG

This is the front view of a woman's right eye with an eyebrow. I used a Monggol 2 pencil and try to vary the pressure onto the pencil to also change the shade. Mostly, I end up drawing a front view of an eye/s. Why? Because I feel like he or she is looking at me and I actually find it creepy at first but later on I find it addictive. What I like about this book is that the author gives notes, instructions and most importantly some demos which I find it very helpful.

IMG_20200826_111018 (4).jpg

These are two sketches of an eye having variety of angle. It'a amazing to think on how our eyes work, how much more if we draw it. Putting it in a sheet of paper and it seems like it popped and stand out from it.

IMG_20200826_111018.jpg

Personally, I love babies. Come on! Who doesn't love babies? They are the symbol of youth, hope and new life. Everything about them are so adorable especially their little twinkling eyes. Here, I tried drawing the little left eye with a light strand of eyebrows of a baby.

IMG_20200902_102105.JPG
If we have an eye of a baby, we also have for older ones. Not only an eye but eyes! This is really challenging because his eyes are saggy and surrounded by wrinkles. It's amazing how the eyes can be associated with the person's age and above all to tell a story.

Hope you like my eye sketches coming from the art book of Giovanni Cavardi.

IMG_20200826_111018 (1).jpg

hive dividers-04.png

Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here! I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me in my Instagram account, that's @jmauring too. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency