Graffiti Lettering Contest #11 (PIXEL) : My entery


Graffiti Lettering Contest #11 (PIXEL) : My entery


This post is my entrance into the Graffiti Lettering Contest called Pixel. You can read more about this cool contest by @trippymane . Just folling the link HERE


Hi Art Friends.

I've been interested in graffiti lettering for a while now, in fact I've done some in the past another HIVE, so I was excited when I found out about a graffiti lettering contest called Pixel. I decided to enter the contest and started practicing my graffiti lettering skills.

I worked on my entry for a while and came up with a design that I was happy with.

The first image is the "Finished" work. I did try to do some coloring but, there has been a skill I have never been quite good at. I might revisit this in the future to do some more coloring on it but for now I want to have the black-and-white pen work as the official entry.

20220114_111807-01.jpeg


Process :


I think the hardest part of drawing anything this to start with a blank canvas. In this case the canvas wasn't totally blank as we were given the prompt of the word pixel. That is a great starting point to start building out some of the ideas from.

I have my eraser pen, Inking pen, and mechanical pencil.

20220114_103239-01.jpeg

I start off writing the word and then experimenting with blocking up into bigger shapes. When I was so happy with it I then blew up the picture even larger and drafted it out in a slightly bigger size.

20220114_103840.jpg

I had abetter idea of what I want to accomplish in my mind so I took out the inking pen and went to work. While drawing of course other ideas popped up, and I tried to act on them, however I think it ruined the underlying idea... At least a little bit.

20220114_104457-01.jpeg

After inking I then went through and erased all the lines, then went to work adding in little extra details and filling in some shapes. I think if I could do this one again it would come out better as I have a clear idea of how I want to make the 3D effects happen.

20220114_111807-01.jpeg

Here is a slightly colorized version, needs a lot more lovve. and also more texture and depth... So coloring is not quite my thing going to practice it more.

pixel.png

I also use Adobe capture, and took a picture of the black-and-white image, then converted into a simplified vector line. I could probably go through and use the pen tool in illustrator and really color this and nice with gradients... again I'm at the put that on my to do list.

pixel.jpg

All said and done it was fun to just pick up a pen and do some drawing. For me it's a good way to turn off my mind for little bit and just have some fun.

I hope you found some of these pictures inspirational and you have a creative day as well.

best regards and cheers.



Divider.png

Thankyou.jpg

RoamingSparrow.png
SpectraVentures.png

Travel Photos:@RoamingSparrow
Photo Repository:Roamingsparrow.SmugMug.com

Divider.png


Services I Use and Recommend:

1.png2.png
5.png4.png
linuix.pngdbuzzBanner.png

Help Support Ongoing Content

Bitcoin (BTC)18zopjg9Y2VA1ouCqCZapN3UzdpK3UnMdm
Ethereum (ETH)0x34F6e26d9730b934Af026A7de727fb8fC08204Dd
Binance Smart Chain (BSC)0x34F6e26d9730b934Af026A7de727fb8fC08204Dd

Divider.png

Thanks for reading my post, you inspire me to keep posting!

Thank you for your support!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency