When It's Spring | Drawing with the Note 10+

I love spring

I love spring, but only in pictures. Where I live, there's no winter, spring, summer, and autumn. Only dry and wet seasons -- that's a tropical country for you. If I were given the chance to travel at a time where it's spring in the upper hemisphere, I'd want to fly to Japan and the Netherlands, if just to witness apricot and sakura blossoms, and fields of multi-colored tulips. I'd also love to walk under the sun without worrying about burning my skin 3 minutes in.

So when I came across this pin on Pinterest, I am reminded immediately of everything refreshing, even the allergy season of spring. And, well, it reminded me of anime, too, so I wanted to draw it really bad. And I did!

The drawing

I was so hell-bent on timing my processes, and this is the product of a 3-hour-21-minute drawing. Given the definition, I guess this passes off as a speed painting. It was so fun to work on, it didn't feel like over 3 hours passed.

I got used to setting all the base colors first and then the details after, but here, I ended up painting the face first and foremost. In one layer! Oh gosh, that just made me proud of myself. I used to be really scared of painting in just one layer. Now I did!

I forwent quite a lot of details and pretty much focused on the general picture, so I think it contributed to why I managed to paint this in just over 3 hours. I even thought screw the hand; I refused to paint it in detail HAHAHA.

Here's a zoomed in portion of the artwork. Needless tos ay, I had troubles with the eyes.

Finally, I just can't forget the progress shots in a GIF, can I?

Notes

It's been a while! I just couldn't make myself engage in drawing and illustrations lately. I've been pretty anxious about stuff at work, and I felt like indulging myself this luxury is a big no-no. Glad I got over it.



erangvee.carrd.co
ko-fi | twitter | instagram | nft showroom

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency