Learn to Breathe | Drawing with the Note 10+

I have been in an intense period of revamping old artworks. More than revamping, I think it's more fitting to call it recreating. There are some artworks from 2020 that I used to like as soon as I drew them, but there were also some that I straight up just didn't like but still tried to pass off as an output.

Here's the third of a recreated piece from my list of disliked drawings. It was initially meant as a portrait drawing practice, but I now tried to draw it again in a way that I hope to make it my own.

Learn to Breathe

She is the kind of girl who inhales, who exhales, but never really knows how to "breathe." She is a trapped in a place where a wide expanse of thoughts is a sea that slowly overwhelms her.

Drawing Learn to Breathe

Sometimes I'll just look at the old drawing and think, "What could I have done to make it... better?" Or more likeable. I didn't think the first version was particularly bad. I thought it lacked story, and I didn't like that.

For reference, below is the primary drawing I did in 2020, which is based off this portrait photography. I just loved the colors back then, but looking at it now, it was too lackluster for my liking. What could give it more life?

I was browsing through Pinterest when I found this pin and fell in love with it, the ambience, and the "story." The ambience called to me, and I thought it would fit perfectly with the initial drawing.

I just had one problem: for some reason, the Medibang file I had was incomplete. I apparently didn't save the final version, so I had to repaint everything.

I nearly gave up, but I thought about just trying to put the JPG version on top of the working file and just draw on top of it as necessary. It's a pretty long story, but you can see how I managed to work it out in below GIF.

Finally, I was watching a Medibang Youtube video about painting clouds on MediBang mobile, so I found this the perfect time to put the tutorial to practice. I kind of liked how the clouds turned out here, to be honest!

Notes

That's it for today. I really enjoy doing this whole recreate an old, disliked drawing, so you'll probably expect more like this from me in the future!

Extra notes

I looked back on an old post where I talked about doing the portrait study, and I just realized now that I actually had a timelapse video of it. xD You can watch it again here:



erangvee.carrd.co
ko-fi | twitter | instagram | nft showroom

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency