I was King | Drawing with the Note 10+

I was King

If I go down, I will go down fighting
I'll go down, down like lightning

'Cause I was King.

Failing comes almost naturally to human beings. And that's OK. Because with re-learning and a little bit of faith, we find our ways to rise again.


I was King on KnownOrigin.io

The Drawing

This piece takes a lot of inspiration from the orchestra version of the song I was King by the Japanese rock band, ONE OK ROCK. I recommend everyone to give it a listen!

Unlike many of my artworks which I would normally complete in under a day, this one took approximately 36 hours. I honestly have no idea why it took longer than usual. Maybe it was the skull? And the many trials and errors. Almost sure about the trials and errors angle.

Naturally, this painting has quite a lot of incorporated symbolisms about failing and getting up again. The most representative of failing in this piece is the skull.

The skull often represents something unachievable, mostly in the concept of immortality. However, it may also mean transformation, which is an inevitable part of our lives.

The want to rise again from deep under is depended on our faith in ourselves, and how much we learned to unlearn. These are represented by the fire and blue asters.

This was a concept I have been playing around in my head for a while now. I was glad to finally get a picture of it (I tried to squeeze whatever creative juices I may have left in my brain). And I felt victorious to finally get it done.


The thing is, the past three days weren't exactly... favorable (at work). They were bad... like the kind of bad I never imagined I'd been shoved into. The kind of bad I've never experienced before. It felt like I was thrown under the bus and left to die, only, I wasn't alone. That was supposed to make me feel better -- not being alone in whatever bad I was experiencing -- but it just reminds me, too, just how bad the system can be, when we are this many feeling this way?

I wanted to conjure an image that would remind me that I am better than what I am forced to be. We are. We were Kings.

This piece is minted in a single edition in KnownOrigin.

Notes

As the description above insinuates, this work is personal to me. I didn't wish to get personal in my description, but my brain is fried, having been forced to attend 3 meetings worth 1 to 3 hours each, in 3 consecutive days. Despite some circumstances. My only rest came in the form of binge watching Black Clover (Gosh, I just wish Asta wouldn't scream so much!) and painting this.

How has everyone been so far?



erangvee.carrd.co
ko-fi | twitter | instagram | nft showroom | knownorigin

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency