A New finished piece in my Animals with Plants series

greyhoundwithlilySMALLTHumb.jpg
The Greyhound and the Amaryllis

Though I've drawn and painted SO many breed of dogs in my life, the little darling is close to home, as I've owned Italian Greyhounds. Our last sweet girl, Sophie, who loved to 20 years, was so sweet.

Even without trying they were always elegant, so I thought the beauty of the amaryllis the perfect pairing. Surely many think of Christmas for the amaryllis and surely that is when I grow mine, but I have one in my studio now which has been happily growing it's greens since Christmas.

greyhoundwithlilyDoneSketchSMALL.jpg
Of course it started out as a rough sketch

And then I build up layers and finally ink the outlines:

greyhoundwithlilySMALL2.jpg
I've been very specific in my inking and the "black frame" for these pieces in this series as I want them to work together in the future as well as separate pieces.

As I've mentioned, I'm going to be trying out coloring pages and each day that I create the piece in the outline stage and move onto my own style of coloring I realize the joy of adult coloring.

greyhoundwithlilySMAL3.jpg
And the color begins with our dear sweet Italian Greyhound. I'm never one for "Real" colors only and wanted her pink to tie into the amaryllis.

greyhoundwithlilySMAL4.jpg
Next comes the amaryllis and the pot. For me Blue and White is quintessential Classic and is the perfect fit for the elegance of the greyhound.

greyhoundwithlilySMALL1.jpg
And the piece is done in this form.

I love a Painterly background and here that's what I've done, however, before I start setting up this series for downloadable pages and coloring content, I've been thinking I want to add patterns to the background. I think in that black and white stage having the background full of joyful patterns to fill in with digital crayons (or printed out for colored pencils/crayons) would be fun.

And because I Do love it, here's a gif of the layers

ezgif.com-gif-maker (7).gif

Technically I had another sketch and study I shared the other day of a darling bulldog who should have technically been the next one finished. I've been trying to , this series, make sure I go from concept, sketch, study to finished piece before starting the next, but I had started a sketch of this and it felt like the one I wanted to finish.

Now matter how methodic we may try to be as artists, the whim often will win out. Yet, in a way, that whim is the artistic inspiration; that moment of drive and desire to create. Of course, the methodic and discipline are important to coral in the whims of course, tho it can be a bit like herding cats...hmmm I've not done a cat yet in this series...and off I go.

Thank you for joining me for today's Animal with plants. I actually think this could also make a lovely Christmas Card, as it has the amaryllis, and July IS when we are meant to start thinking of Christmas things for the coming season. So many things on our checklists.

I hope you find a moment in your day to indulge in your own passions and that you enjoy the moment and follow your whims.

QuailBorderforHive.jpg


If you'd like to follow my Work Here are some Links:
MY Society6 Shop
NFTshowroom
MAKERSPLACE
My Website
Instagram
Twitter
My 3Speak Channel

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency