OC PORTRAIT | INNER CITY (MANGA COMIC STYLE) + process materials

Hello Hiveans!

I hope everyone is well and taking care of themselves.

I thought I would do something totally different in style and genre since I'm always in danger of getting bored or getting a block. And so I capitulated (we use big words needlessly in this house) to an old love of mine from my childhood - Manga, and anime.


Untitled5601.jpeg

I grew up on stuff like Naruto, HunterxHunter and DBZ like every other millennial in the 2000s. But I have to say that Bleach and the artwork of Tite Kubo had a massive impression on me growing up. DBZ might have started me on drawing but it was Bleach that had me thinking about drawing/art as something worth considering as a profession. Long history short, my dad was not going to have his eldest "drawing cartoons".

And here we are 17 years later and trying to make a thing off of it.

It was really cool revisiting a beloved medium after such a long time away with new skills and tools to bare. I should forget to mention it is less taxing on me to do something essential that doesn't require too much focus, as I'm still recovering and regularly need breaks.

vtrshm circular logo footer boarder trans wht blk bg.png

PROCESS MATERIAL

Sketches

On my last portrait post I mentioned I'd be incorporating facial structure stuff in the preliminary sketch phase but in this instance I was a little wheezy because of the cyclizine that I just went straight to sketching with out a planar structure.

Polish_20200819_193424888.jpg

________________________________________

Outlining and Inking

I then went on to do outlining and inking which I thoroughly enjoyed. Yes! more thank you!
Polish_20200819_193543677.jpg

__________________________________________

Shadows and Lighting

In this last stage, I just apply the shadow values, moving lower in exposure to deepen the shadow. And then I went on to finish off with the lighting and highlights, which didn't need any subtle work or anything like that.
Polish_20200819_193616112.jpg

________________________________________

Finished Piece

Untitled5601.jpeg

The background on the finished piece is one of many that are available on IbisPaintX to use for free.

These days I see myself using chromatic aberration a lot and I don't think I'll be stopping anytime soon too. Here I just used it as a cheap effect but I have so many ideas on how to apply it in not so obvious ways, like I did on the Bellanera piece from a couple of days ago.

Polish_20200819_195507608.jpg

MugLife_08192020180923.gif.gif

vtrshm circular logo footer boarder trans wht blk bg.png

Tools:

  • Samsung Tab SM-T805 (Ipad Pro Mini or a Wacom one in my wishlist)
  • Ibis PainterX Android
  • Infinite Painter Android
  • Clip Studio Paint


Thumbnail cover banner may 2020.png

Thank you for having a look at my wares. If you like what I'm about and doing, give me a little visit on my profile page, leave a comment, like and while you at it, hit that follow button and follow me not my instagram.

Studio_20200815_010548.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency