Mi Primera Acuarela Marina 🌅 My First Marine Watercolor

pelicanos 5.jpg


Hola hivers; hoy les traigo mi primera acuarela marina de una foto que tomé en la Isla de Margarita (Venezuela).

Esta acuarela me costó por ser la primera vez que pintaba un cieloten grande. El formato que utilicé fue A4 y fondos tan grandes me cuestan; en realidad, descubrí lo difícil que puede ser, pintar un cielo degradado en acuarela.

En algĂșn momento comencĂ© a sentir frustraciĂłn porque no me salĂ­a lo que querĂ­a. Nunca habĂ­a pintados cielos grandes en acuarela y cometĂ­ un error importante; no mojar el papel previamente.

En algĂșn punto casi sentĂ­ ganas de abandonarlo. ComencĂ© por el cielo y estaba quedando muy mal. DecidĂ­ dejarlo asĂ­ y enfocarme en el resto del paisaje.

Hello hivers; today I bring you my first marine watercolor of a photo I took in Margarita Island (Venezuela).
This watercolor was hard for me because it was the first time I painted a large sky. The format I used was A4 and such large backgrounds are difficult for me; in fact, I discovered how difficult it can be to paint a degraded sky in watercolor.
At some point I began to feel frustrated because I didn't get what I wanted. I had never painted big skies in watercolor before and I made a major mistake; not wetting the paper beforehand.
At some point I almost felt like giving up. I started with the sky and it was looking very bad. I decided to leave it at that and focus on the rest of the landscape.

Foto original de un viaje que hice - Original photo from a trip I made


pelicanos.jpg


Desde el inicio con el låpiz, pude sentir la dificultad del arte. Pensé que sería mås fåcil por los pocos elementos y colores. Sin embarjo por la distancia de la foto, no se distinguían bien los pelícanos, así que parecerían unas manchas abstractas.

From the beginning with the pencil, I could feel the difficulty of the art. I thought it would be easier because of the few elements and colors. However, because of the distance of the photo, the pelicans could not be distinguished well, so they would look like abstract spots.


pelicanos 2.jpg


Después del cielo, hice el fondo claro del agua para ir aplicando tonalidades mås oscuras. No me gustaba lo que veía, aunque confiaba que mejoraría un poco.

After the sky, I did the light background of the water to apply darker tonalities. I didn't like what I saw, although I was confident that it would improve a bit.


pelicanos 3.jpg


Comencé a darle profundidad al agua y eso distrajo mis pensamientos derrotistas. Quiero confesar que nunca había sentido esta frustración en un dibujo, incluso con molestia.

I began to give depth to the water and that distracted my defeatist thoughts. I want to confess that I had never felt this frustration in a drawing, even with annoyance.


pelicanos 4.jpg


Al comenzar a pintar los pelícanos vi una luz al final del tunel. Los tonos de grises aportaban volumen y mucho de lo que necesitaba la pintura. También se comenzaron a ver reflejos en el agua.

As I began painting the pelicans I saw a light at the end of the tunnel. The shades of gray provided volume and much of what the painting needed. I also began to see reflections in the water.


pelicanos 6.jpg


El resultado final no fue un desastre, pero tampoco algo que me emocione admirar. Si se ve de lejos tiene su encanto, pero no al punto de enamorar XD

The final result was not a disaster, but not something I'm excited to admire. If seen from afar it has its charm, but not to the point of falling in love XD


pelicanos portada.jpg


Con esta acuarela descubrí que me falta muchísimo por aprender. Inmediatamente después de terminarlo me dispuse a ver tutoriales en Youtube. Tengo ya varias horas en eso y me toca practicar mucho, sobre todo en zonas amplias.

Me toca hacer ejercicios simples para los grandes degradados y los colores sĂłlidos. No puedo ser un acuarelista de donas solamente. AdemĂĄs que las acuarelas arquitectĂłricas me encantan.

Ya les traeré mis avances con los ejercicios, antes de volver a una pintura importante...

With this watercolor I discovered that I still have a lot to learn. Immediately after finishing it I started watching tutorials on Youtube. I already have several hours on it and I have to practice a lot, especially in large areas.
I have to do simple exercises for large gradients and solid colors. I can't be a donut watercolorist only. Besides, I love architectural watercolors.
I will bring you my progress with the exercises, before returning to a major painting....

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency