Watercolor rose study

I really love nature and I have found great comfort in studying each tree and leaf as if I would be walking in the biggest art museum. The complex patterns one can see in a leaf or in the bark of trees never cease to amaze me.

DSCF4509.jpg

I have been painting for 25 years yet I feel I just discovered that I would really like to draw more nature related paintings.

DSCF4500.jpg

Some might call it botanical illustration, I prefer to name it nature study.

DSCF4517.jpg

I feel that the style of botanical art suits my soul and my personality, as I am mostly introverted and I enjoy time spent outside , far away from the urban noise. I would always choose a nice log cabin in the middle of nature as a place where I would love to live instead of a noisy city.

DSCF4505.jpg

Forests are the best place one can find inner peace and reconnect with themselves.

DSCF4501.jpg

DSCF4502.jpg

I decided to study more the roses. Who doesn't love roses ? Especially us women.

DSCF4503.jpg

DSCF4504.jpg

I started with a sketch.

Schitarose343.jpg

Schitarose4.jpg

I have chosen watercolor because I can layer the nuances and also take my time with building up color saturation.

Schitarose7.jpg

Schitarose8.jpg

Watercolor is very relaxing to work with. I prefer also the watercolor pencils, only that I do not use them in the classical way I choose to dip their tip into the water and use that mixture instead. I guess it is just personal preference.

I really liked how this rose came out and I will be focusing more towards botanical art in the near future.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency