Foxy lady watercolor art. Pointillism, ink and watercolor intertwined

In this drawing I have used the finest watercolors known on the market: Daniel Smith. Appreciated worldwide, they provide you with the best pigment. Although they are expensive, there is nothing on the market for painters just as these colors. Combined with the Arches paper, they are perfect for any artist.
This a drawing of a fox in watercolor and with a bit of a touch of my Faber Castel pencils. I also wanted a bit of dots so I could not stay away from my stippling technique with my 0.1 mm isograph. There is also some ink work involved. Here is a short video I have made for this fox drawing

As always, I start with a freehand sketch. To be honest with you, until I finish the drawing I have no idea of what I’m going to do next haha. I just go with the flow and let my creative juices lead the way.

foxsketch.jpg

I started with my purple as I felt I want to focus on the background first.

foxsketch1.jpg

Then I have changed my mind haha and started to work on the fox. I always thought that capturing animal portraits is one of the toughest thing to do as an artist.

foxsketch2.jpg

foxsketch3.jpg

foxsketch4.jpg

I continued with (lots of) some stippling. When I do pointillism on an artwork it allows me to take a break from the composition and just relax. I know it might sound weird, but pointillism is like fresh air when I also decide to do color. Maybe just because it was my comfort zone it must be the reason why it feels rewarding and relaxing to do this in almost all of my artworks

foxsketch5.jpg

Time for a bath foxy! I like how coloured blobs of ink mixed with water look on paper. So I decided to give it a go and make my background stand out with my typical soft add of ink. You have to let these sit a day or two until the paper fully absorbs them.

foxsketch6.jpg

I have listed this on @nftshowroom as one single unique edition for sale
https://nftshowroom.com/creativemary/gallery/creativemary_watercolor-foxy_foxy-lady

FINAL PICTURES OF THIS ARTWORK

DSCF2956.jpg

DSCF2958.jpg

DSCF2961.jpg

DSCF2964.jpg

DSCF2966.jpg

DSCF2969.jpg

DSCF2970.jpg

DSCF2971.jpg

DSCF2980.jpg

foxynormal.jpg

I enjoyed very much creating this and as usual it was a healing experience to let myself be the artist that I am : me, colors and brushes.
Have a great day and toodle loo!

DSCF2944.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency