The Wisperer (Digital Illustration - WIP)

Hear this Ancient and Malevolent Song
Of Blame, Guilt, and Shame!
Follow its Tiny Rumourous Voices,
And Carry their Whisper
All around the World!

The Whisperer

Whisperer010.jpg

Hello, dear reader !

Guess what ? Here comes another long run and still unfinished digital painting !
Surprised ?
Nope ?
Anyway !
A bit of story around this one :


Unstoppable Blablah : Started.

As often, the first strokes were guided by deep feelings inspired by surrounding elements.

In that case, I simply remember that day's where I was witnessing a rare event.
Oh yes ! A rare, very rare event!
Rarer than an already extinct animal's birth !
Indeed...
Even though the beast that was born that day is definetly not rare... At all... By far!

What was it ?

I witnessed the birth of a toxic rumour.

You know ? That kind of ugly gossips that nobody usually know where they come from.

Of course, I didn't know at that precise moment that the boring noisy tittle-tattle I was hearing, between two over-talkative people about another missing one, would be the start of long-lasting invisible gossiping waves of destruction against their target.


Auntie Imagination: Summoned.
-Weird-Vision Mode: Activated

I won't say more about the scene itself, because accurate crappy details would be kill any form of blurry imagination.

And, as to invoke Auntie Imagination, let's make her repaint the whole stuff with the correct and absolute weird way it deserves:

  • What about personifying the gossiping act into a strange creature being ?
  • maybe, some kind of modern sorcerer ?
  • able to manipulate rumours and transform them into little murmuring monsters ?

That looked like an interesting start, to exploit with my favorite digital toy : Art Rage.


Art Rage : Loaded

The work began, in values of gray:

Whisperer-01.jpg

At that point, it seems that I thought about uploading the final version as a Displate (seems also that I totally forgot that since then :D ):
91410882_146420846785742_3439764004175963652_n_17860147966802394.jpg

I remember though that I started to struggle hard with values balancing whit the addition to background little characters, with the feeling I could easily destroy the work with each new addition:

96581276_267760741020193_1778308320248035431_n_17862255274861427.jpg

That's generally the point that tells me : "Bring the colours !"

100977411_169849277821576_5465005012580344231_n_18143107399056128.jpg

Despite that, I couldn't find any safe way to progress on this piece without any damage. And while the small resolution pictures here still seems decent, the high res ones were terrible to work on.


Progress : Halted
-Skill limits: Reached

I've lost a few steps of evolution, where damage occurred, but the work came to a point where it was halted during months, because of two main reasons:

  • my own skills limitations: I've been stuck at a point where I couldn't find any ways to solve many balance problems between foreground and background, between clear details and foggy aspect without adding more and more harm to the whole.
  • my computer's limits facing performance requirements.

Art Rage, as a natural painting software can be a really heavy performance eater for my old rig when working on large paintings, and the natural rendering of its painting tools have a price to pay : a lack of precision when working at low resolution.

So, As I couldn't rely on my skills to get through my hardware and software's limits, a clear stopping bottleneck was reached.


Waiting...
-Press any key to resume.

Months later, as a new version of ArtRage came with great improvements in terms of performance, I decided to give my stuck and damaged painting a new chance to be fixed , and to follow the path it would want from here.

Whisperer008.jpg

Whisperer009.jpg

Whisperer010.jpg

That's the point it reached this week.
I was pretty focused on that birdy thing these last days, and I'll have to bring my attention on the rest.

  • The main character's face needs some work as I'd want to bring back some of the older versions effects (but with cleaner ways to work than before).
  • And of course, the background has to be greatly improved.

If it evolves like I feel it could, that would make my first NFT on Hive ecosystem :)

I'm still not at this point : still tons of work to be done, but the pleasure to experiment without any fear to destroy everything is back, and that's a great feeling !


Unstoppable Blablah: Stopped
-ERROR

Dear members of the Hive, until the next waves of progress, I thank you all for reading this!
Have the best day you've ever had, until the next one! 😄

Berien

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency