Saint Killian - sand sculpture



I have a short one for you today. Mainly due to the fact that this is the next piece I have to document and it isn't really that interesting. This was what we call a one day carve and funnily enough it is a sculpture that is carved during one day. This one in particular was made for a small town festival in Mullagh, County Cavan. I think I was there once before but don't have any photos of that sculpture. If some do show up I will make a post about it. I do however remember that I made a sculpture of a cow.

This time it was a depiction of St. Killain a native of the town.

A martyr and his buddies

Killian was born in Mullagh in the 6th century and after becoming a Bishop decided to go and preach the good word about Jesus in the area of Würzburg, Germany which was overrun by pagans at the time . He pissed of the Duke by telling him that it was not cool that he had just gone and married his brothers widow . The Duke was having none of it and and got his soldiers to behead Killain and two of his busy body companions. The End

Well, actually not really the end. Each year on Saint Killian's day the skulls of the three guys are paraded through the streets of Würzburg and then put on display in the Cathedral which is dedicated to Killian. I'm sure in Religious circles this is a nice way to remember him. To me it all seems a bit macabre.



He is also still quite popular in Mullagh and that's why I made a sculpture for him. For a one day sculpture it was OK, nothing special. As you can imagine I find it difficult to relate to such stories.



I think I've taken enough of your time, also It is after 10 o'clock here and I still haven't had my dinner. I will have to check the fridge and see if I can Russel up something.





Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Untitled - sand sculpture

The Wizard of Oz- sand sculpture

Surfer - sand raking

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency