A walk in the park on a foggy morning

This morning as we (the hubs and I) set out for a walk it promised to be a warm sunny day. Happily we drove to the park with a fully working camera LOL unlike Sunday's dramatic episode. Just as we reached the park it became much cooler. Suddenly it became foggy, we weren't really clothed for such weather, but we still hoped that the sun would soon be up and the fog would clear.

On the contrary as we walked about half a kilometer the fog got more dense. There were very few birds in the park, just the water birds like the lazy pond herons who were still sleeping. I guess these guys sleep all through the day hehe. The ducks were around but not very active as they usually are.

As we walked one full stretch of the walking track and turned the corner there was this beautiful view of the sun trying so hard to come through the fog. It did seem as though the sun didn't have the power to come through. It faded away and it was back to the dullness around.

The tabebuia aveallendae tree looked a pretty sight with flowers and buds. I know that this is the time for this tree to bloom, but in this fog it was the most beautiful thing I saw until then. I stood under the tree watching a flower disengage itself from the stem and spiral downward like a fan, I think at that moment I lost myself in the beauty of creation. I took a few shots of the tree and enjoyed its beauty for a little longer before I moved on.

This tree spoke to me of life itself of the beauty that exists even in the darkest moments of life.

We walked on, there weren't too many walkers this morning probably because it was a working day and it was kind of cold. I enjoy it when there aren't too many people around. Hubs then pointed to a kingfisher, he was so far away right in the middle of the dense woods on a branch of a tree. I knew there was nothing much I could get with my lens which wasn't meant for such long shots like that, I still tried like I always do. The fog and the distance didn't help at all. The kingfisher was just a blue dot in the woods.

Singing to myself I walked along enjoying the morning glories on the way. I collected some seeds as well, hoping to see how they would grow given the right conditions. Just then I noticed a peacock and a couple of peahens on the trees. The peahens were foraging on the tops of the trees but the peacock seemed to be asleep. I guess the peahens were eating the tender shoots on the top of the trees or maybe insects, I have no clue.

We waited for better lighting not wanting to miss the opportunity of getting some better images of the peafowls. We have been to the park so many times before but we have never seen the peafowls. I knew that the shots wouldn't be great mainly because of the distance and secondly because of the fog. I did try my best. The peacock woke up and was stretching himself. He then attempted to clean his tail feathers. It was funny watching the birds walk on the top of the trees. It seemed like they walked on green clouds.

Watching the peafowls was fun, I have seen many peacocks before, but seeing one in its habitat doing the things it normally does was refreshing. I have seen an eagle owl here swallowing up a huge snake years ago. I know that the lake is fenced to protect its biodiversity and the people who visit the park. I enjoy being here mainly because lake and the natural atmosphere around it are preserved to a large extent.

After spending almost 20 minutes watching the birds we moved ahead. We had been hearing some strange noises from the time we entered the park. We thought they were mynas. Just then I noticed black things moving right on top of the trees, these looked like bats. I have never seen bats as huge as these. They were on the top of the tallest trees and yet looked so huge. We watched them for a bit. The fog showed no signs of lifting up, we were getting very hungry and we hadn't even cover 2kms by then so we walked faster.

We saw a tiny duck like bird which moved so swiftly like it was a shooting star. It was hard to take pictures of this tiny bird, but even in the dullness of the morning fog I noticed that the bird had a red head. I took a couple of shots.

Then there were a few cormorants which were drying themselves after a dip. A grey heron which was still sleeping and so was another white heron near by. The temperature seemed to drop further and the hubs was not taking too well to the cool air. His sneezing became wild so we quickly left the place. We decided to have coffee and breakfast at a restaurant nearby before we drove back home.

Sadly hubby is under the weather, he is running a temperature and has caught a cold. Hopefully he will be better in a couple of days.This is flu season here, and I hope this isn't the flu. I have been giving him hot soups all day.

Fog or not I did enjoy my walk this morning. The peafowls were a pleasant surprise, I only wish I could get some clearer pictures maybe sometime soon when I can go there for an evening walk.

I have edited these pictures to make them as clear as possible, I hope you like them.

Thanks for all the support. Have a wonderful day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency