Wednesday Walk - Prairie Sightings

Here are a few sightings in the prairie for this #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay
p6196777_copy
Right as I got out of the car the first sighting was a great blue heron flying to its nest.

p6196776_copy
Now that all the tree leaves have grown in around their nests I can't see them anymore. But I do see them flying to their nest with food for their babies.

p6196775_copy
Here's another one higher up in the sky flying to the same nesting area.

p6196771_copy
The heron nests are just behind this horse track area. I finally noticed someone with a horse on this track. He was mostly just trotting it along but did some fast galloping as well.

p6196772_copy
Nothing like checking your social media while taking the horse for a gallop lol.

p6196782_copy
The prairie areas are fully grown with cone flowers and all sorts of other weeds. Echinacea is a nice medicinal, I'll have to learn how to harvest and prepare it for tea. I usually just buy the pill supplements but with so much of this stuff growing wild around here I can just get it for free.

p6196785_copy
The grass seeds are in full bloom as well. Oomph my grass see allergies have been bothering me.

p6196783_copy
Fortunately the little song sparrows like to eat the grass seeds. They are all over the place in the prairie singing loudly.

p6196795_copy
The bluebirds are out as well. I'm sure they have all filled up the nest boxes that are placed everywhere in the prairie grasses.

p6196799_copy
Fortunately this little guy decided to turn around so I could get a good shot of its face.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency