Wednesday Walk Reflection Photo Hack - Trying Something New

The #WednesdayWalk has me constantly looking around for fun photo opportunities. I thought this week I would test out a photo hack I've wanted to try out.

Photo Hack Idea

This photo hack involves a flat surface, water, a mobile phone, and picturesque background. This list of items produced this photo:

Tree Water Reflection.jpg

As you can see, this photo hack gives the impression of a large body of water reflecting the trees and shrubbery in the background.

What do you think? Did the hack work?

How I Did It

First, I wandered around trying to find an outdoor flat surface and landed upon our front porch. I poured water on the concrete, turned my mobile phone upside down, and then snapped the above photo.

Tree Water Reflection Behind The Scenes BTS.jpg

On my computer, I cropped it down to minimize the house and car across the street. I then brightened up the color a little bit so the reflection of the tree and sky could be seen better in the water's reflection.

Are you surprised by the fact the "lake" is actually a puddle of water and the "lake's edge" is just our doormat?

Worth a Try?

I think this was a fun photo hack. I only had one flat surface to try this on, so I was limited to one location. Turned out the rest of the sidewalk surfaces are stone walkways and not smooth concrete as we have at the front entrance. I need to find flat, smooth surfaces in other locations and try this with varied backgrounds. I think this was a decent first attempt and am intrigued enough to try this again.

Do you think you'd like to try this photo hack on your next #WednesdayWalk? If so, tag me in your post. I'd like to see your creative pics. Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency