wednesday walk - what you can find in the frozen ground - 10 macros

IMG_5069w-h2.jpg

This is a post to go with #WednesdayWalk challenge by @tattoodjay

My walk today was very short and lasted less than half an hour, but I managed to get myself frozen and even get under a tiny snowfall. The weather in my city is notoriously changeable... during the last week, the onslaught of spring has weakened, and the retreat of winter has stopped. Just eight days ago I was enjoying the warm spring sun and photographing blooming snowdrops - and now I walk past that place and watch them wither, freeze and die ... however, snowdrops are survivalists, and it is possible that they will survive until warm days.

Моя сегодняшняя прогулка длилась всего полчаса, но я успел порядочно замерзнуть, и даже попал под малюсенький снегопад. Погода в моем городе переменчива... последнюю неделю натиск весны ослаб, а отступление зимы прекратилось. Всего восемь дней назад я радовался теплому весеннему солнцу, и фотографировал первые подснежники - а теперь проходя мимо того места наблюдаю, как они мерзнут и никнут... впрочем, подснежники - специалисты по выживанию, не исключено что они доживут до теплых дней.


IMG_5067w-h.jpg

In fact, I went to the local post office to pick up a small package with 'Be Quiet' 140mm silent fans for my computer: that was the case that lured me out. I bought them second-handed at Russian ebay to put on reserve - as I'm not sure that I will be able to obtain any IT-stuff later, when I need it, because... uh ... because "our future is bleak", and inflation rates, on the contrary, are very tangible. I should buy more batteries for my Canon 5D, as well, I think about it all the time, but I'm too lazy to do it, postpone it till it be late...

На самом деле, я ходил в местное почтовое отделение и забрал небольшой пакет с двумя бесшумными вентиляторами 'Be Quiet' для моего компьютера: именно это дело выманило меня наружу. Я приобрел их секонд-хендед на русском ибее и поставлю их в резерв, в запас - у меня нет уверенности, что я смогу купить позже, когда мне понадобится, никакой ИТ-стафф, потому что, эээ... потому что "наше будущее бледно", а темпы инфляции наоборот очень конкретны и ощутимы. Надо бы купить еще аккумуляторы для камеры, всё время думаю я, но ленюсь сделать это - глупый я.


2022-mar-4478conv.jpg

So, what I have found? Snowdrops. Lots of snowdrops.

Подснежники. Много подснежников.


2022-mar-4457w-h.jpg

They are alive and well, despite the cold. They are probably waiting for pollinating insects... but I have bad news: it seems that insects will not appear very soon...

Они живы и прекрасно себя чувствуют, несмотря на мороз. Наверное, они ждут насекомых-опылителей... но тут у меня плохая новость: похоже, насекомые появятся еще не очень скоро...


2022-mar-4456w-h.jpg

IMG_5069w-h1.jpg

Of course, I took my camera with me, just in case, and in the 20 minutes of Wednesday that I spent outside, I photographed something interesting.

Конечно, я взял с собой камеру, на всякий случай, и за те 20 минут среды что я провел снаружи, сфотографировал кое-что любопытное.


2022-mar-4490w-h.jpg

And this is the first crocus of this season that I found! It has not yet bloomed, while it only grows leaves, buds and fights the cold.

Это - первый крокус! Он еще не зацвел, пока только отращивает листья, бутоны и борется с холодом.


IMG_5085w-h.jpg

And this is a maple sprout. Most likely, it will never turn into a large maple tree, there are just a lot of maple seeds dozing around in the ground, and they are full of strength. (If every maple seed inevitably became a tree... only maple trees would grow around, right? but in nature there is a struggle for living space and resources, and not everyone is lucky...) Anyway, maple sprouts are very like visually, they are very touching "unbend the back."

А это - росток клёна. Скорее всего, он никогда не превратится в большое кленовое дерево, просто вокруг в земле дремлет очень много кленовых семечек, и они полны сил. (Если бы каждое кленовое семечко неизбежно становилось деревом... вокруг росли бы одни клёны, не так ли? но в природе имеет место борьба за жизненное пространство и ресурсы, и везёт не всем...) Так или иначе, кленовые ростки мне очень нравятся визуально, они очень трогательно "разгибают спину".


2022-mar-4498w-h.jpg

This is by no means a sprout, but quite the contrary! I’m not even sure exactly what it is, but I think it’s some kind of inedible, decorative type of cabbage. She overwintered the winter in a withered form, and will probably begin to grow again ... but some of her branches give the impression of being alive! they are purple and in general, they look beautiful in photographs.

Это отнюдь не росток, а совсем даже наоборот! Я в точности даже не уверен что это, но считаю что какой-то несъедобный, декоративный вид капусты. Она перезимовала зиму в засохшем виде, и наверное начнет расти заново... но некоторые ее ветки производят впечатление живых! они фиолетовые и вообще, смотрятся красиво на фотографиях.


2022-mar-4507w-h.jpg

I am pleased with what mysterious, picturesque, colorful pictures this dried last year's cabbage provided me with. Now no one will arrange a photo challenge with the theme "Christmas tree", but if there was such a challenge ... my cabbage would have a high chance, I think. it will be necessary to save the photos and not forget about them in the next New Year's season (if we live to see it, of course).

Я доволен тем, какие загадочные, живописные, красочные картинки обеспечила мне эта высохшая прошлогодняя капуста. Сейчас уже никто не устроит фото-челленджа с темой "Рождественская елка", но если бы такой челендж был... моя капуста имела бы высокие шансы, как мне кажется. надо будет приберечь фото и не забыть про них в следующем новогоднем сезоне (если мы до него доживем, конечно же).


2022-mar-4500w-h.jpg


On the way back home, I met not only flowers, but also birds - crows, pigeons, and most importantly, starlings. ALAS!!!! The starlings posed for me perfectly and let me very close (the photo below is uncut, this is how far they walked, almost a meter away from me, enthusiastically exploring the frozen ground in search of food.

По дороге обратно домой мне встретились не только цветы, но и птицы - ворона, голуби, и главное, скворцы. УВЫ!!!! Скворцы отлично мне позировали и подпустили очень близко (фотография ниже - необрезанная, вот на какой дистанции они прогуливались, практически на расстоянии метра от меня, увлеченно обследуя мерзлую землю в поисках продовольствия.


2022-mar-4525w-h.jpg

Everything was perfect: the light, the background, the starlings themselves... everything except me. I didn't check the camera settings, and I took a great series of 20 counted photos, at a shutter speed of 1/100 - hehe... that's too little for a 150mm telephoto lens, it's too little for photographing a moving target, and it's criminally too little for photographing birds. .. unfortunately, all 20 photos went to the wastebasket.

Все было отлично: свет, фон, сами скворцы... всё, кроме меня. Я не проверил настройки камеры, и сделал отличную серию из 20-ти пересчевенных фотографий, с выдержкой 1/100 - хехе... это мало для теле-объектива 150мм, это мало для фотографирования движущейся мишени, и это преступно мало для фотографирования птиц... к сожалению, все 20-ть фотографий отправились в мусорную корзину.


111.jpg

In my defense, I can only say that I simply had no hands left: With one hand I held the camera and pressed the button, and with the other hand I held the box and a few more purchases from the green store - bread and a bag of apples. Well, photo hunting doesn't have to be 100% successful every time.... besides, I still came back with prey - snowdrops and withered cabbage-tree. So it turned out to be a great, memorable walk!

В свое оправдание могу лишь сказать, что у меня уже просто не осталось рук: Одной рукой я держал камеру и нажимал кнопку, а другая рука держала коробку и еще несколько покупок из зеленной лавки - хлеб и пакет яблок. Ну что ж, фото охота не должна быть каждый раз 100% удачной.... к тому же, я все равно вернулся с добычей - подснежники и пожухлая капуста-ёлка. Так что это получилась отличная, запоминающаяся прогулка!


location: St.Petersburg, Russia March 2022 natural light
camera/lens: Canon 5D Sigma 150mm raw-conv

Thanks for walking with me, see you next time. Надеюсь, вам было приятно прогуляться со мной по улицам Петербурга!

sep1201.png

All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
My posts at pinmapple.com
Thanks for visiting my blog!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency