This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Wednesday Walk: A Stroll Along Sungai Sarawak

image.png

Sungai Sarawak or the Sarawak River flows along Kuching City, dividing the City into 2 parts. The main City is on the south bank of the river, while the Petra Jaya area which houses the Astana and the Stale Legislative Assembly Building is on the north bank.

image.png

The best place to enjoy the Sarawak River is to take a stroll along the Kuching Waterfront. The Waterfront which has an esplanade of 900 meters is a popular destination for locals and tourists alike. Many people come here for leisurely walks while taking in the sights while enjoying the gentle river breeze. The Kuching Waterfront is also the venue of the Regatta which is held yearly.

I wanted to watch the sunset over Sungai Sarawak, and so my son Jonathan and I came here during the evening a few weeks ago.

image.png

The walkway with local motifs is perfect for walking. Along the way, big tall trees provide shade.

image.png

Some of the trees are flowering, and it is a very beautiful sight indeed.

image.png
A sculpture of the crocodile guarding Sungai Sarawak.

image.png

The Darul Hana bridge spans over Sungai River. The bridge offers panoramic views of the river.

image.png
The Square Tower is one of the colonial buildings that can be found at the Kuching Waterfront. It was built in 1879 with the intention of serving as a prison but was later converted into a fortress. It now houses a restaurant.

image.png

The Floating Mosque is located along the bank of Sungai Sarawak.

image.png

Across the river is the resplendent Astana, the official dwelling place of the Governor Of Sarawak.

image.png

The State Legislative Assembly Building perched majestically, overlooking Sungai Sarawak.

image.png
The sunset cruise is very popular and the ship is packed with people.

image.png

This mural pays homage to the boatman who rows his sampan (boat) across the river every day.

image.png

The crowd is entertained by a busker rendering a song accompanied by the guitar.

image.png

These stalls sell toys, souvenirs, snacks and drinks.

image.png

You can buy batek here as well.

image.png
A metallic sculpture with water features. The red building in the background is the Chinese Temple.

image.png

Potted plants line the esplanade.

image.png

This 'Baruk" style building is situated at one end of the esplanade. A "Baruk" is the main part of a Bidayuh (one of the local tribes) longhouse.

image.png

This is Kuching, my hometown. The Kuching signage is a popular spot for taking photographs.

image.png

A boat with colors of the Malaysian flag plying Sungai Sarawak. The white building in the background is Fort Margherita.

image.png
This Bistro serves a selection of western and local food.

image.png

Kuching means cat in Malay. This artwork depicts a group of playful cats.

image.png

A replica of the samapan (boat) is on display.

image.png
A Chinese pavilion

image.png

image.png

I have always loved sunsets and I think that sunsets are almost magical. Taking a stroll along Sarawak River at sunset is a simple pleasure of life which I cherished.

image.png

image.png

.I hope to see you all next Wednesday when I share my walks with you.


Wednesday Walk

As I am still recovering from my slipped disc, walking and swimming are my major forms of exercise. I am glad to stumble upon the Wednesday Walk community. The Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by @tattoodjay to encourage people to go for walks, take some photos and write about it. Now I can combine my two hobbies; walking and writing.

Follow me and stay positive.

Look me up at You Tube
Please watch my previous videos.
Motivational Quotes On Life And Success

Wednesday Motivation: Short Quotes On Family That Remind How Blessed We Are

Short Quotes To Inspire You To Lead A Healthy Lifestyle

Short Quotes To Inspire You To Be Kind

The Gifts Of Caring, Acceptance, Love and Appreciation

Lessons From My Autistic Son

How A Little Kindness Can Change Your World

Life Is Simple
Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

Connect with me on Facebook

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Hive by rehiving this post.