Traversing the countryside: A walk along the Corn Farm Chronicles

"Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously" __2 Corinthians 9:6

I know that this Bible verse can be related to all aspects. And here I am again, letting you witness my walk with nature last Wednesday which I can relate to the verse above. Please follow my lead as I let you see how hard work brings a fruitful life.

20230819_112037_0000.png

Last Wednesday, August 16, 2023, We went to Sitio San Roque, Brgy. Lapaz, Bogo City, Cebu, since we are invited for dinner by my cousin for a fiesta celebration there. Since my motorcycle runs a flat tire, so we decided to have a long walk in the afternoon. It is almost 2 kilometers away from the nautical highway. The Sitio is located in the middle of the mountainous area in Brgy. Lapaz, Bogo City. It cannot be denied that the area is far from the city, and all that you can see there are the mountains and the farmlands along the barangay road.

IMG_20230819_110957.jpg

IMG_20230819_111013.jpg

Along the way, I see the corn farm which was ready for harvest. I remember my past days living in this area where our primary source of living is farming. I then learn to connect what I see to the current situation where there is a price hike of rice in the market.

I said to my wife," Look at the corn farm, it is ready for harvest."

She replied,"Yeah, lucky for the owner. He cannot buy rice in the market. Yet he cannot feel the price hike of rice."

I replied,"Yeah, that's what we did before. We also had huge farmland and will able to harvest corn after 6 months of sowing it. If you are hardworking, then you can have no problem with food. We used a manual stone mill for the corn grains after harvesting."

I started narrating my life stories while walking forward. We laugh and enjoy the storytelling while traversing the road. We then passed by this plowed farm.

IMG_20230819_111057.jpg

IMG_20230819_111116.jpg

As I see the plowed farm, I said to my wife,"This part is ready for sowing."

She then asked,"Why can you say so? Did the owner use a carabao?"

I answered, "Because it is already rainy season. Yeah, it is a carabao, how can a tractor pass through stone piles, and using a tractor is so expensive." Then I chuckle.

My wife replied, " Do you know how to plow using a carabao?

I answered her, Yeah, I practiced it before. I am a born farmer. Hehe, he"

It is very lovely to talk with someone while walking because you can't feel tired even walking at a distance.

Seems like a Banawe Rice Terraces

As we come near the destination place. I see this part of the farm which looks similar to the Banawe Rice Terraces. It looks like a stair corn farm.

IMG_20230819_111306.jpg

IMG_20230819_111240.jpg

The corn farm is ready for a reap. It is very nice to see the view from afar. This side of the mountain is very productive. I know about planting corn and I share it with my wife. I told her that it is not easy to cultivate the land and nurture the corn. It requires perseverance and generosity.

Looking at every side of the corn farm, my wife asked me, "Was that a sugarcane?", pointing to the grass which looks like a sugarcane.

IMG_20230819_111349.jpg

IMG_20230819_111447.jpg

I replied, "No, it's not sugarcane. It is "Bungalong", we used to feed it to the Cows and Carabaos." Then I started to laugh at her.

IMG_20230819_111320.jpg

Watching and Passing through the corn farms, I witness the hard work of the farmer from cultivating, sowing, and nurturing the corn. It is not easy to do these works. I see how beautiful is life in the Province. They are the real rich. They don't buy their food, they plant theirs. They don't drink cold water from the refrigerator, they drink fresh water from the well. They don't breathe cool air from the air conditioner, they breathe cool air from nature.

Reaching The Destination

Here we are now, reaching our destination, after an hour of walking, we get to the place.

IMG_20230819_111516.jpg

IMG_20230819_111528.jpg

We are very happy as we reach the place. It's time to regain more energy after a long walk. So I cannot take any more photos because my stomach is already craving food. It is eating time.

Thank you for having the time to read my blog. Once again, This is Mr. Experienciado, see you on my next blog!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency