Loquats were my target!

IMG_20220501_182008_BURST1.jpg

Loquats had finally decided to enter the ripening phase. I have been waiting for this for a while, as I mentioned to some hive members already, among them @littlebee4, that I really like the taste of this fruit. This weekend we took a long walk, around the orange groves and loquat plantations. The weather was good, a bit cloudy, but just to adorn the sky. Today we count again on the presence of rain.

IMG_20220501_174819.jpg

IMG_20220501_174822.jpg

If you are not familiar with this fruit and its taste, I will gladly bring here my admiration towards it. It was the first time I tasted the fruit of a loquat a few years ago... I can not recall the exact year, but it was less than ten years. Maybe the very first encounter was not the perfect one, but soon I started to like this fruit so much that it is now my favourite pastime while walking. Hunt for loquats.

IMG_20220501_175122.jpg

There are many gardens near to our home where they grow. Until now I was just observing the green and yellowish fruits with longing, they don't taste really good when still in this phase. Once they receive the orange colour, that's the sign. They are here for us, to offer some tasty bite.

IMG_20220501_174450.jpg

Although many of those loquat trees are around, I am trying to hunt those trees that are growing freely. I call them: they are nobody's trees if grow on the path, ie not inside of a plot or garden. If the loquat tree is inside someone's property, I pick just those that are already on the ground. That happened with that one I found, it was already on the floor, landed on some grass. So why not take it? Here is the proof!!

IMG_20220501_174239.jpg

Well, not a great proof, but if you want to believe me, I would be grateful :))

There are still many fruits that are not ripe. For those, we will have to wait a week or a bit more, and later the season of it is over. Until next April or May when they will ripe again. The flowering season of them is during the autumn and early winter. It is so unusual for a fruit tree, but I kinda like this feature of it. The taste is also unusual, not so sweet, not so sour. Something in the middle and not easy to describe. One has to try it to know it.

IMG_20220501_174825.jpg

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

April and early May are also perfect months for the asparagus hunt. In the meadows, you can find many wild asparagus, tender and very delicious. I have collected a lot, here is only a small part of what I found. It has been a delicious dinner, prepared in a saucepan with a few drops of olive oil.

IMG_20220423_195346.jpg

IMG_20220501_190720.jpg

A lot of those yellow and white flowers are everywhere. Literally everywhere. I don't know the name of them, it is just a type of wildflowers but they nicely decorate the green grass meadows. And yes, we see so much greenery too, as the quantity of the rain that we had in Spain during this spring was very unusual. That came well for nature. Finally, instead of dry soil and rock, this green can calm the eyes!

IMG_20220501_190805.jpg

IMG_20220501_174540.jpg

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Our last stop was by the fence where I saw this beauty! He was calmly eating some grass, but I wanted to get closer to him.

IMG_20220501_183241.jpg

However, getting closer and trying to avoid the wire in the photo makes the picture of the horse incomplete. I mean, we don't see here his ears.

IMG_20220504_101524.jpg

He was very considerate and helped me in this action, the ears are here now, but now the snout is missing 😂

IMG_20220504_101244.jpg

Finally, we made a deal. He will pose and if I have a nice shot I will leave him alone to have his snack. Almost a good photo, but just almost, as in one of the corners the wire of the fence makes some grey shadow. Anyway, I was happy to meet him, and I thought he was the only four-legged beauty I would see that day.

IMG_20220504_101411.jpg

Just some plots away, I met this funny gang, a donkey and a white horse. The donkey was trying to taste the rok, but soon he decided that it is not his favourite food. He opted for another object.

IMG_20220421_193752.jpg

The fence!!

Let's try how this wire tastes! Maybe mipiano can come in and pet us. We would really like that.

IMG_20220421_193717.jpg

It didn't happen, the fence was not harmed, I stayed outside, but the white horse came to greet me. It was a nice gesture and a surprise, as my target was to pick some loquats but I went home with plenty of wild asparagus and some dialogues with horses and a donkey.

IMG_20220421_193616.jpg

IMG_20220421_193655.jpg

Peace, walk and asparagus for dinner achieved, enough for someone to be satisfied. And go back next time for more loquats :))

Slide2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
40 Comments
Ecency