Details in the old town of Tarifa, Spain 🇪🇸 ~ Wednesday Walk

Hi all 👋🏻

Today I want to share some of my adventures and interesting details I saw during my walk around off the beaten streets in southern Spain 🇪🇸 To be precise: ”The small streets of the old town of TARIFA.”

With this post I’m joining in at the Wednesday Walk challenge and Make me Smile challenge. That are hosted by @tattoodjay and @elizacheng every week on Wednesday.

‼️Have a look: Here in the Wednesday Walk Community if you want to join in! or at @tattoodjay ’s Post: “Wednesday Walk the Sawmill“
It will tell you also the rules of joining in, at the end of his post about this #wednesdaywalk 😁 Do join us, it’s fun 🤩

Today’s selection will be of 25 photographs, where I take you along on a walk through the cute town of TARIFA.
I visited this area on Friday 19 September 2022 😊
The Photographs in this post are taken with my iPhone 📱

I will follow the time stamps on my photographs. So it looks like you are walking along with me on this #Walk 💃🏻💃🏻💃🏻 discovering everything and see the little #details through my eyes. 😊

Let me show you first its location on Google maps, see the yellow marker :

Let’s start our WALK:
Are you coming along? 😉😊

We start walking at the far end of Tarifa where we park our car and have some lunch first at one of our favourite restaurants there: SURLA
Do check it out when you are in the area, I highly recommend it. It is next to the beach and always parking around there.

Their website: You find here! SURLA

I will post another day about the lunch we had there 😉🤓 as today I want to show you more from the old town.

We walked a bit and entered the old town through the town’s gate you see in the first photo.
Walking through the main streets we see little shops:

Beautiful decorations around buildings entrances, in the distance we see courtyards looking in. 😊

This little door captured my eyes… behind is the water meter… see how they created a tap 🚰 out of the stone 🤓 how cool is that.

A bit further we walk pass a little square with a church. I see this beautiful bougainvillaea 🌺

And underneath… this trumpet plant.

A closer look… and these trumpet shaped flowers. 😁 beautiful… yep, let’s share #alwaysaflower 🥰

Some streets further… we are just walking randomly, turning corners and entering small streets. We ended up here. A cute courtyard surrounded by buildings and there are market stalls and little shops. Also artworks can be found around it 😎

On one of the walls we see a few small tiles depicting the following scene:

Above it we find the description…

I translated most of it for you in English:
“Fishing tradition:
Original art from Manuel Reiné.
This panel of tiles was painted in 2014 by the ceramist Tarifeña Mariluz Muñoz.

It consists of 250 tiles of 20 x 20 cm. With a total dimension of 5x2 m.
Manuel Reiné recreates other times in which does not yet exist the Fishing harbour and shows us the ships stranded on the beach.

The art of cleaning the tuna on the beach, the animals that pull the carts as a means of transport and weighing with the scale.
It is a clear tribute of the author to a whole way of life! Already disappeared the fishery of tuna.

Here we see the large mural of tiles 2 x 5 meters.

We see this stall in the market. Cold meat is displayed.

We exit now this area and wander through some more small streets.
Some houses have an entrance that lays back and is covered. The owners of this house decorated it beautifully 😊

Lots of mosaic and photos are displayed on the walls. 😎

You see areas of the surroundings of Tarifa.

The streets are getting steeper… as we climb up I see this hotel that stands out with it’s façade.

Look at it’s details… the old and new and renovated parts all show. 🤓

Small streets with white washed houses…

A #horses head and it’s #shadows.

The entrance gate again…

Some funny toys for the tourists from Tarifa 😎

Another entrance to the inside of buildings that are around a courtyard. Love the plants… 🪴🪴🪴

Through a gate we peek inside… and see this courtyard. It has a few benches and a statue at the far end. I can’t enter… but take this photo for you 😊

And as Tarifa is a walled town… we see here part of the wall and it’s towers/fortification 😎

Now we walk back again… in the opposite direction to the car. More will be shared in the future about this cute town as I have visited it many times in the last 7 years 😉

And that’s all for today’s post my friends, join me next time for more #adventures, #stories and #photographs 😎👋🏻 Even some #artworks once in a while will come by 🎨
Thank you so much for looking, and reading. And if you liked my post, an upvote or re-blog is always welcome 🙏🏻
Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

Gif by @irisworld

Have a great Wednesday all 😎
Grtz Jackie

silver_divider_black.png

The divider is Created by SilverFish / @ mondoshawan

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble 😉 So please don’t use them without my consent.

🖼 My PRINTSHOP: for the purchase of all kind of prints in many sizes from my Artworks 🎨 and Photography 📸 Which come on different objects too. Have a look in My Prints Shop!

!pinmapple 36.01358 lat -5.60304 long Details in the old town of Tarifa, Spain 🇪🇸 ~ Wednesday Walk d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
71 Comments
Ecency