Da Nang Labour on Cold Rainy Winter Days | Da Nang Expat Town Without Tourists

Hi all! That's a special day and I hope it is not too late for a Wednesday Walk post 😊

Da Nang labour in cold rainy winter days (1).png

All of sudden I picked up my camera choosing to go out on such a cold, rain and wet winter day - As I realized this is the best day to capture some special moments of labour in Da Nang - specially in my town - A tourist expat town - Where you will see clearly the contrast of different life styles and different human lives and different jobs as well!

As you know Viet Nam is a tropical country, but only the South has more consistent weather - mostly hot or a little cool all over the year.
In fact the North and the Central have cold winter, rainy, stormy as well!

It has been a cold, rainy and wet winter here in Da Nang. And in my town - during this season - NO TOURISTS!

_DSC0639.jpg

  • You'll see an empty town - but life goes on and because of this, you'll have more space to observe local life. And when the whole country is still waiting for tourists to return to Viet Nam, there are still lots of activities going on everyday. And here I want to mention The daily life of labour!
    They never ever stop working, hot days, sunny days, windy days, rainy, cold, wet days, even stormy days! 😤

Today I focus on some constructions around my neighborhood.

  • I was supposed to go with a friend but then the rain started and the wind was a bit wild, so I said: Whenever I decided to do something like this, I'm a little wild, so I'm going anyway! 😀

I mean... people are working out there still! If I don't go, how do I understand how hard their work is?

  • I have been enjoying manual settings on my camera so much, so with all these photos you see, I took in 3 hours, one by one using different manual settings. This is perfect for a perfectionist like me - sometimes I call myself "a spoiled perfectionist" haha 😆

Alright let's go! I did not wear a raincoat, and tried to not pull out the umbrella so that I could hold my camera haha

_DSC0520.jpg


_DSC0521.jpg

_DSC0513.jpg

Shippers are ones what work all over day and night, and the harsher the weather is, the more work they have? Right? 😀 That's a bittersweet job here. Lots of times I meet ones in very difficult situations, and most of them are adorable and do their work very well 😊


_DSC0522.jpg
These ladies do a very hard work for a living. Most of times I collect whatever I can give away and can be recycled to give to them, have a small talk about where they are from and how they days are going. All of them are friendly, some are really lovely too. Most of them come from other provinces of times 😀

As an INFJ (one of 16 personalities), I love learning by observing, and whatever I observe, it brings me different emotions and connections with the objects!


And here I walked to the area that always gives me some strong feelings! This is the most dangerous work I have even seen around here. Very hard work and they work through days and night. I think each of them work at least 12 hours/day 😀

_DSC0502.jpg

_DSC0488.jpg

_DSC0494.jpg

_DSC0500.jpg
That's a lot of work to do to keep things going and keep the main street tidy as well! 😀


Walking by "Umm" - my regular bread and coffee place for breakfast and see little lovely girls working there 😊
You'd see the most friendly staff ever! They remember everything about their customers and what they like. These girl are only 20, 21 years old!

_DSC0510.jpg

_DSC0512.jpg

_DSC0507.jpg


Leaving Umm, I kept walking, started to feel some rain drops already!

_DSC0538.jpg

_DSC0552.jpg

I saw this guy and I was like: Hum... what kind of photos he is taking? Looking so serious? 😆

_DSC0553.jpg

You'd see a lot of these in Viet Nam, people carry lots of stuff around by their motorbikes and a home made trailer. Vietnamese people are always super creative in figuring out how to do things, specially when we don't use cars as much haha

_DSC0531.jpg

_DSC0548.jpg

_DSC0546.jpg
That's a new coffee shop there, some kind of Korean vibe in there and everyone comes to do selfie 😀


And now I got in trouble! It rains! hahaha ! A hard one! Me and random people ran into a very new pub that just opened (not officially yet) on the road side. And that's Shamrock! A beautiful Irish pub! 😀

_DSC0564.jpg

Took this photo when I was having a gin&tonic 😆

_DSC0557.jpg
By a pure chance, a friend came join and he asked me to work on social media management for The Trip! You know The Trip? Oh my! The place I come to jam music! 😍 One of the most liveliest place in town for music performance!



_DSC0530.jpg

_DSC0517.jpg

_DSC0550.jpg

_DSC0528.jpg

_DSC0533.jpg

One of the things I enjoy most about my town is, though I have been living here for almost 1 and half a year, many people know me (we all know each other's face), but everyday you'll always see something new and somebody new. Constructions always going on, new buildings, new coffee shops, new bars! People come and go as well! 😀


_DSC0568.jpg

_DSC0599.jpg

_DSC0572.jpg

_DSC0635.jpg

_DSC0559.jpg


I'm heading to the beach now! Getting colder and more windy. I actually live just 3 blocks from the beach (about 300m). I did not bring enough jackets but I still wanted so see what was going
on there!😀
Here we live with the beach! We love mother ocean and come visit her regardless!

_DSC0561.jpg

_DSC0591.jpg

_DSC0608.jpg

_DSC0621 (1).jpg

_DSC0631.jpg

_DSC0567.jpg

_DSC0575.jpg

_DSC0571.jpg

_DSC0584.jpg

_DSC0582.jpg

_DSC0587.jpg

_DSC0607.jpg

_DSC0597.jpg

_DSC0588.jpg

_DSC0586.jpg

_DSC0611.jpg

This is the gate of my town! As you can see it is a tourist town! And most of Da Nang expats live in this area. It is a real small town but you can find almost everything here. Of course it's not the cheapest place to live but comparing with Saigon or Ha Noi, lots of things are 1/2 or 1/3 price haha

_DSC0639.jpg

_DSC0633.jpg

_DSC0613.jpg


And from now, I'll let you enjoy our mother ocean here! You'll see some random labour as well, and see how life is in this winter! It is very foggy today and I decided to not do the "dehaze" when I edited my photos so you can see some fog 😀

_DSC0637.jpg

_DSC0646.jpg

_DSC0647.jpg

_DSC0648.jpg

_DSC0649.jpg

_DSC0650.jpg

_DSC0657.jpg

_DSC0660.jpg

_DSC0666.jpg

_DSC0595.jpg

_DSC0655.jpg

_DSC0662.jpg

_DSC0663.jpg

_DSC0667.jpg

_DSC0669.jpg

_DSC0670.jpg

_DSC0674.jpg

_DSC0673.jpg

_DSC0677.jpg

_DSC0682.jpg


On normal days, there would never be a chance to take photos of an empty beach like this without people. Every season of the year, we always had lots of tourists!
As you know Da Nang has one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and a worth-living city in the world! 😊



I started to walk back and kept staring at the empty sunbath chairs...
I felt a bit sad but I know things will get better soon... 🙂

It started getting dark... oh and oh hey, I can not upload any more photos now? I would be glad if you tell me how many photos you can post in one post haha
I'll save the rest for another post! 😊


Everyday I go out in my sweaters and jackets with my umbrella, I look for somewhere to find a hot load of bread, a hot coffee, sit down and start working. But out there, I can not believe how those little people can carry on with their work in the cold and such bad working condition...
But believe me that those are the sweetest people, and no matter how hard they work, they always have a big smile one their faces!
Next time I'm gonna come say hi and take pictures of one by one 😆 I hope I'm not too shy to do that!

This is one of the ways I find my inspiration back! I watch people! I observe them and I feel their energy!

Hope you are staying warm there and enjoy my walk and the photos!
Thank you for visiting me and I hope the world will reopen again soon, and I'll see you somewhere along the way! 😊

Little Beatle ♫

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency