Dreemport Walk - An impromptu adventure begins for Kene.

Everyone deserves a smile. Everyone also says how hard it is to put a smile on people's face. But I can assure you that all it takes to make me/him/her smile is just the twinkle of an eye.

Wanna know how? Okay, read in-between the lines!

At the end of the previous round of #DreemportChallenge, we were informed that it would be spiced up with an additional task for this week. Without being sure of what to expect, I waited for the contest post but it was nowhere to be found. Little did I know that the post was already released. Lol. It came with a headline that wasn't as loud as its predecessors.

Anyone that wants to read the contest post in detail can Click Here.
26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqNMSgYsYo9N8JK2r653T1kEpwvaPQk5acqoqwpdvae9VyWRQWRJQ4g6S7ukJfuyP2rjLkEDi3zeuwdAqeV1X41yd2aXLWsPi3C5wgR8mtqjdqan.png
In a nutshell, this contest is about going for a #Wednesdaywalk, using Actifit App to track your steps, and subsequently creating a #Makemesmile post for the viewing pleasure of all readers.

Remember what I said about a step up to the contest? This is what it's all about;

Let's make this challenge matter in our OWN LIVES in a special way and spread it to someone else who isn't expecting it :)

When I read this part of the contest rule, I hit the road immediately with someone in mind.

IMG_20210808_144339_122.jpg
Yeah, that's right. It was raining, but I didn't care about the rain. I was hell-bent on this mission to put a smile on the face of a stranger.

If I had told anyone at this point where I was going, they will surely call me crazy. I mean, why should anyone believe that I'm going out under the rain to put a smile on the face of someone that doesn't know me from Adam? Truth is, I also don't know the person per se. I just know that I will be meeting him.

And the adventure begins for Kene, Jack Sparrow Jnr. 😂

Lucky me, I got a tricycle immediately I reached the nearest bus stop and my 15 minutes journey kicked off.

IMG_20210808_182254_252.jpg
Do note that at this stage, my Actifit App was fast asleep. Lol.

I don't know why it always skips my mind to open the App each day. Well, I had my wallet, my phone and my Umbrella. A lot of things were running through my mind within this journey. I just had a lot of crazy things already planned out. All I need at this stage is a perfect way to execute them without drawing people's attention.

Yeah, I don't like being the centre of attention especially in a rowdy city like mine, but I don't mind getting a truckload of attention on hive. For the record, do well to reblog this post if you want to gimme the attention. Lol. Just kidding

15 minutes later, I'm at the perfect place and ready to put a smile on the face of Mr Stranger

The spot was kinda congested due to traffic jams. If you have never been to Nigeria, it would be hard to imagine how tough it can be for any road user to experience this, especially on a rainy day. The tricycle dropped me off in the middle of the road. That was right in front of Mr Stranger

I seized that opportunity to take a good shot.

IMG_20210808_155526_073.jpg
That right there is the man I'm looking for. A traffic warden that works under the sun and in the rain irrespective of their measly pay. And he does all these without ever asking anyone for a bribe or tip whatsoever.

Anyone that has seen any post I wrote about Nigeria can attest to the fact that I don't sugarcoat words when saying things. I say it the way it is and anyone can go to Afor-Nkpor tomorrow and see this man doing his job in a place where traffic wardens are treated like lesser humans because they don't carry guns.

Long story short, I approached him in that same busy road, placed my Umbrella over his head and said;

Me: "Oga well-done ooooo, Baba God go bless you and your hustle".

English Interpretation: "Sir, well done. God will bless you and your hustle".

His reaction? Hmmm... Beyond explanation. Everything happened so fast, I didn't spend up to 2 minutes with him because he was obviously on duty, and I didn't give him any money. But the joy he felt and the morale boost that came from my #makemesmile act will surely be remembered forever. I also didn't leave the umbrella behind 😬.

Seriously, no pictures? Emmm... The rain must have been a factor, but honestly speaking, I didn't plan to take any picture of the 90 seconds incident. I ended up not taking any picture, I beg to be pardoned for that 🙏, but his smile will always give me an unquenchable satisfactory thrill.

Mr stranger is happy. Who else deserves a smile?

I'm a family guy, so this is a no-brainer. You do know that I live-in, eh? I live with Mum and Dad and sisters. Haha. And I'm in my 20s. So, any day you see my writing a post or making comments, it shows that I must have turned deaf ears to all the family drama that comes with living in a place where you are not the Alpha. Hopefully, this will change in two months. I have plans! But that's a gist for another day.

On my way back, while on a tricycle, I decided to stop at Nkwo-Ogidi market so that I will look around and buy anything that can help to ease the spending burden at home. Luckily for me, I always have my Debit card in my wallet. I've suffered for this act before, but it's kinda habitual so, heavens do understand. Lol.

I went to a POS agent and cashed out thousands of Naira (#).

IMG_20210808_094008_754.jpg
Ufff... Bad shot! I know! Don't hurt your eyes!

With the cash I withdrew, I started bouncing across the nukes and cranny of Nkwo-Ogidi market, like a boss! The rain wasn't so bad, just drizzles. And I was not in a hurry.

Can you guess what I bought? Lol, guess but don't knock yourself out.

Time for the big reveal.

IMG_20210818_075739_303.jpg
Yeah, that's crayfish. I bought a paint of crayfish from the market. A very fresh one.

I was planning to make my family smiling with this surprise, and I can assure you that even as I'm writing this, I can still hear someone smiling in her sleep. ROFL. Who could that be?

Time for my Actifit App. It was late for the party. All thanks to my forgetfulness.

I still managed to do some aimless walking from one room to another. I had an opportunity to increase the count when I went to our bus stop to help my Mum bring back the heavy luggage she had with her on her way back. It was already 6:50 p.m and I seriously didn't want to risk losing my phone to hoodlums so, I had to leave the phone behind. Most painfully so!

By the end of the day, what I had on record is
Screenshot_20210818-234200.png
453 activity count. I can't make a case for the low count. You already know WHY.

HiveDivider_sm.png

Special regards to all the hosts, supporters, participants and curators of this contest. Bless y'all 🙏.
DreemPort_banner.png

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma
All image credit goes to me.
Dreemport logo and banner used with permission from @dreemport

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency