Wednesday Walk: the second oldest road in Bangkok, ถนนสีลม

I could hardly believe that I have been living in yesterdays! It’s Saturday and I am trying to finish my timeline on Wednesday. Twenty-four hours a day are not enough for me to do all the tasks of each day! So, I am behind in my sleeping too! What could I do except to soldier on with my best effort to survive each day. I still count the blessings for my safety and good health. Last week I was occupied with trying to help my gardener’ son because he was experiencing vaccine injury.

img_2723.jpg

Luckily, I had my emergency medicine pack with me during my trip. So, I had to plan and prescribe proper supplements and antidotes to the young man. Then, I had to give preventive supplements to all the members of the family. I had to make sure that people would not be affected by the shedding of the vaxxed person. I already had been affected by my dentist’ shedding process twice! So, I had first hand experience of what it felt like and the process of getting over that strange sickness. Altogether, I had suffered three times from being in closed proximity with vaxxed people. I had tried and tested all the supplements and antidotes: that was quite a learning process.

img_2725.jpg

These posts for Wednesday Walk have also been a learning process in getting to know my own culture and history of familiar places. So, I could no longer take things for granted; wherever I go I would think about all previous generations who used to live and work in that area. Sometimes I wish I had a magic mirror for looking into the past hundred years to get a glimpse of people’s lifestyle in those days.

img_2726.jpg

img_2724.jpg

During the lockdown, I took some time to walk along part of Silom Road which was constructed after the first road (New Road or Chareonkrung Road) was constructed during the Reign of King Rama IV. So, Silom road is now over 160 years old. It is the second oldest road in Bangkok. In the old days, all roads in Siam were about the width of the path which an elephant could walk through the thick curtains of green walls of plants and trees . The roads were all soft earthen ground full of leaves and grasses. That’s why Siamese people walked bare feet everywhere. Only rich people could afford to have special shoes made for their formal costumes. Only the rich could keep elephants and horses for their transportation. Most people would have rowing boats as most houses were built along canals. That why Bangkok was called ‘Venice of the East’ a few hundred years ago.

img_2721.jpg

img_2720.jpg

Nowadays Silom road is in a sad state with many abandoned shops and buildings as a consequence of the pandemic and long lockdown. The road used to be full of traffic and noises. There used to be hundreds of restaurants, coffee shops and jewelry shops along both sides of Silom road. This was the first financial and banking district of Bangkok as most foreign companies and biggest companies all had their headquarters along Silom road. So, all the best restaurants could be found in this area.

img_2765.jpg

img_2764.jpg

img_2750.jpg

img_2756.jpg

I could still remember how excited we were when our parents took us to taste pizzas at the first pizzeria in the Narai hotel. People in Bangkok were eager to get some pizza at that four star hotel. Narai hotel was the first hotel to have more than ten floors in Bangkok. The Westernised design and ambience were just fantastic for kids. How could I imagine then that we could order pizza online these days or buy some frozen ones home from supermarkets. The magic of pizzas had disappeared with time! I took a look at the old hotel and continue to observe the closed down jewelry shops in the area. Some buildings had been defaced and pasted with advertisements. I wondered where all the shopkeepers and staff had gone; I wished they had some alternative ways of making a living.

img_2748.jpg

img_2746.jpg

img_2739.jpg

img_2749.jpg

Some old buildings from the previous century could be spotted next to the old Chinese cemetery along Silom road. The style of these buildings reminded me of the Georgian and Victorian style buildings in Bath Spa in England. Silom road used to be full of rich merchants’ mansions with neo-colonial style architecture with barns for keeping horse drawn carriages. Then, more roads were constructed in Bangkok for the arrival of cars which eventually replaced elephants, horses, carriages and rowing boats. The canals along Silom road were filled in to make space for widening road. All the windmills which foreigners brought to Siam were all gone.

img_2747.jpg

img_2737.jpg

img_3773.jpg

Source

img_3772.jpg

These foreigners installed windmills along the canal in front of their buildings to mill rice before exporting rice overseas. I could never imagine seeing more than fifty windmills along Silom road over a hundred years ago. It would be so cool for taking some selfies! So, the old Siam would probably looked very similar to villages in Holland too. I walked around trying to find the best spot for taking photos of the famous skyscraper on the other side of Silom road. I had the permission to take photos of the Mahanakorn building from the car park of the Chinese cemetery. It was a bit eerie so I quickly ask permission to enter from those residence spirits. I always tried to be polite and respectful towards the older generations.

img_2734.jpg

img_2730.jpg

img_2729.jpg

img_2743.jpg

A few years ago, Mahanakorn building was the highest skyscraper in Bangkok with the height of 314 meters. The rooftop has a fantastic skywalk with a restaurant. Tickets could be bought online for visiting the rooftop skywalk. In the past, tourists would flock to this skywalk during the evening for taking photos of Bangkok at night. The most important site along Silom road today is the old Indian temple where people could go to pay respect to Indian gods and goddesses.

img_2772.jpg

img_2773.jpg

img_2774.jpg

img_2778.jpg

img_2779.jpg

This Hindu temple was built during the reign of King Rama V, in 1910. So, this temple is about 112 years old. The temple was closed during the lockdown so I could only take photos from outside. Several years ago, I visited this temple and I was sort of testing the energy of the place which was not very polite. But I got taught a lesson by the holy energy inside the temple. The vibes were amazingly strong and I could feel something rising up from the ground. It was like an energy well deep inside the earth being drawn up by the sacred Hindu statues. I would have loved to be able to be surrounded by sacred vibes once more.

img_2767.jpg

img_2768.jpg

img_2766.jpg

img_2769.jpg

img_2775.jpg

img_2776.jpg

The trees along Silom road (Windmills road) have all grown much bigger over the years. There was a modern windmill model at the crossroad further down the road but I didn’t have the time to go that far. So, I borrowed a photo for this occasion. The sky was getting very cloudy so I made my way back to the car park. Pictures of my fond memories of Silom road came flashing in my mind: the popular cake shop among school children was gone, the famous ice cream shop had disappeared, the two oldest shopping malls have been transformed into office buildings. There were new high rise buildings which I had never noticed there before. So, things change according to the flow of time. Uncertainty is the name of the reality game. I hope that after the ending of the lockdown, Silom road would become more lively and more businesses could start operating once again.

img_2745.jpg

img_3742.jpg

Source

img_2742.jpg

img_2732.jpg

เดือนก่อนเราหาเวลาไปเดินเที่ยวที่ถนนสีลม เพื่อถ่ายรูปเป็นที่ระลึก เราไม่ได้ไปเดินแถวนั้นนานมากแล้ว. ถนนสีลมเป็นถนนสายที่สอง ที่สร้างในสมัยรัชกาลที่5 ถนนสีลมมีอายุประมาณ160ปี สมัยก่อนมีคลองตามถนนสีลม และมีกังหันลมที่พ่อค้าต่างชาติใช้ในการสีข้าวก่อนจะบรรจุเพื่อส่งออกไปขาย ถนนจึงมีชื่อว่าสีลมนั่นเอง ตรงหัวมุมสี่แยกหนึ่งจึงมีการสร้างกังหันจำลองไว้เพื่อเป็นอนุสรณ์ของอดีตความเป็นมาของถนนสายนี้ด้วย เราเดินเล่นจากบางรักไปตามถนนสีลมเพื่อไปถ่ายรูปของอาคารมหานคร ซึ่งเคยเป็นตึกระฟ้ามี่สูงที่สุดในไทย โดยมีความสูงอยู่ที่ 314 เมตร ชั้นบนสุดเป็นสกายวอคที่สุดตระการตา มีร้านอาหารและพื้นกระจกสำหรับให้คนขึ้นไปเดินเที่ยวถ่ายรูปด้วย. เรายังไม่เคยมีโอกาสขึ้นไปบนนั้นเลย ราคาตั๋วค่อนข้างแพง. ถ้าเรามีกล้องดีๆก็น่าจะคุ้มทีจะไปถ่ายรูปเล่นบนตึกนั้น

img_2736.jpg

img_2754.jpg

img_2757.jpg

img_2758.jpg

img_2755.jpg

เราไปเดินเที่ยวถนนสีลมช่วงล็อกดาวน์ ถนนแทบจะร้าง ตึกและร้านต่างๆปิดกันเป็นแถบ บรรยากาศค่อนข้างเศร้าและเหงามาก เราเดินไปก็เห็นความเปลี่ยนแปลงที่เกิดขึ้นตามกาลเวลา สมัยก่อนถนนสีลมเป็นแหล่งเที่ยวหาของกินที่มีขื่อเสียงมาก เราจำได้ว่าตอนเป็นเด็กนักเรียน เราเคยเป็นกินไอศกรีมและเค๊กที่ร้านหนึ่งที่ทุกคนต้องรู้จัก ร้านฟิชซ่าที่มีชื่อมากก็อยู่ที่โรงแรมนารายณ์ นับเป็นโรงแรมที่หรูหราและน่าตื่นตามากตอนเราเป็นเด็ก แต่ตอนนี้สิ่งเหล่านี้กลายเป็นเรื่องธรรมดาไปแล้ว ความรู้สึกพิเศษหายไปหมด

img_2761.jpg

img_2762.jpg

img_2763.jpg

img_2760.jpg

เราเดินไปเจอตึกเก่าๆที่ยังไม่ถูกทุบทิ้ง ตึกเก่าแก่นี้มึอายุกว่าร้อยปีทีเดียว เราตื่นเต้นมากที่ยังได้เห็นสถาปัตยกรรมผสมของอังกฤษกับยุโรปเข้าด้วยกัน เราขอเจ้าไปถ่ายรูปในสุสานจีนโบราณที่ถนนสีลมด้วย ตอนนี้เขาหารายได้พิเศษจากการให้คนเข้ามาจอดรถยนต์ บรรยากาศแปลกๆ เราก็ต้องขออนุญาตเจ้าที่ในใจของเราด้วย เรามีความรู้สึกว่ามีคนกำลังมองเราอยู่ เราจึงรีบเก็บภาพแล้วออกไปที่ถนนใหญ่ เราเดินไปตามถนน ต้นไม้ริมถนนเรื่มโตมากขึ้นจนทำให้สองข้างทางดูเขียวดี แต่ตามหน้าร้านที่ปิดตายดูไม่ดีเลย คนมือบอนมาพ่นสีที่กระจกทำให้เสียหาย บางแห่งก็มีแต่แผ่นโฆษณาปิดเต็มไปหมด เราไม่เคยคิดว่าถนนสีลมจะต้องเจอกับสภาพที่ตกต่ำเช่นนี้ คิดแล้วก็เศร้าหมอง เราอยากให้ทุกอย่างกลับไปดีงามดังเดิมก่อนการมีโควิดระบาด

img_2744.jpg

เราเดินต่อไปเพื่อไปชมวัดแขกหรือวัดพระศรีมหาอุมาเทวี ที่ตรงถนนปั้น ตอนนั้นวัดปิดเพราะเป็นช่วงล็อกดาวน์ เราก็ได้แค่ถ่ายรูปอยู่ข้างนอกวัด มีคนมาไหว้เทพแขกข้าวนอกกำแพงวัด และถวายพวงมาลัยอยู่ตามรั้วกำแพง เรายืนรับพลังอยู่ด้านนอก แต่รู้สึกว่าเงียบเกินไป บางอย่างไม่เหมือนเดิม เราเคยมาที่นั่นหลายปีแล้ว และเราเคยสัมผัสพลังที่แรงมากในวัด เหมือนกับว่าที่นั่นมีบ่อพลังงานที่ขึ้นมาจากในพื้นดิน เราก็พยายามนิ่งเงียบสักพัก เราคิดว่าเขามีการต่อเติมอาคารจนดูทึบมากไป เราต้องรีบเดินกลับไปที่จอดรถ ท้องฟ้าเริ่มมืดครึ้ม เราคาดว่าฝนน่าจะตกในตอนเย็นนี้ ความเปลี่ยนแปลงที่เราเห็นในถนนสีลม ทำให้เราตระหนักถึงสัจธรรมของชีวิตมากขึ้น เราต้องพยายามไม่ประมาทในการใช้ชีวิต และต้องมีความมั่นคงของจิตใจมากขึ้นด้วย

img_2731.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

#wednesdaywalk created by @tattoodjay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency