WEDNESDAY WALK: Construction Site Visit and a Quick Filipino Merienda


wednesday.jpg

Greetings! It's another Wednesday walk challenge and Make me Smile Collaboration challenge hosted by @tattoodjay and @elizacheng respectively. Today, I would like to share with you what happened during our tour to my father's construction site in Larapan, Jagna, Bohol.

This was a project on a cliff on a highway. The landowner lived for some good years in Japan and had gone back to his home country, he actually looks like Japanese already but he speaks Tagalog and English. I bet he can also speak fluent Japanese but we never had personally talked yet.

My mother told me that she's coming with my father to the site and also mentioned they will have snacks at Painitan sa Baybay, thinking of food as I was already hungry asked to be tagged along.

Our place is a bit far from the construction site, we needed to travel for 15-20 minutes to reach there. My favorite part though was this curved road where the ocean is visible. The construction site is just located in the area going up this road.

It was my father who drove us, he has some issues with his eyesight but there was no one to drive for us. My husband was working and my brothers were also driving the other vehicles for the construction. So he had no choice but to drive instead. He is actually nearsighted but as long as there's still daylight, he can manage, we just have to drive slowly. But the road here in Bohol is not that busy compared to that in the cities so it was fine, there are also fewer people on the roadsides so it is safe.

We reached the site. This is the view of the road. There's a forest on the opposite side. Our vehicle was parked at this side where I took the photo below.



And here's the view of the construction site. There are more than 20 workers here as they are doing a rip-rap for the pathway and for the parking space. Since the project site is near the highway and there are huge blocks of cement that are covering the road, they have to request the local government for permits to clear this area.

Duing our visit, the riprap was still around five feet. Today, according to my brother, it is already above the worker's height. They will soon fill it up with soil.





I wished we could go down to the hut near the cliff but it is challenging especially that we have Matti with us. So, we were just contented with staying here at the roadside. After a few chitchats with the workers, we decided to go to the eatery so we could have snacks.

We walked towards Painitan sa Baybay because it's just nearby the area. I adore the view of the mountains from the highway. My mobile phone camera was not good at taking zoom-in photos. I wished I brought a better camera though.


There were a few other customers at the front so we just waited a bit for our turn. These three were wearing their masks. I noticed that this hut has been covered now with transparent plastics. The last time we went there, it was just open. I believe they did this as safety precautions as well.

It was our turn to say our orders. What we were after was their puto-maya and hot chocolate or sikwate.

They got new schedule too! From the start of September, they are open from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM and then resumes by 2:30 PM until 6:00 PM. They allow take away orders too but for their hot chocolate, the customers have to bring their own containers.

The menu is very affordable, they have not changed it yet, the price ranges from Php 5 to Php 10. In our town, puto maya costs more so this is a good deal! Ther were already customers inside and we have to look for a table for ourselves.

Going inside, I also noticed they had added some accents, there's this wooden utensils or tableware at the side and disinfectant too! They got some plants as well in there to beautify it.

The eatery is filled with many plants and trees. I had mentioned before that it is airy here, so eating with others in the area is okay. We did have to take out our masks during eating but we put them back as soon as we were done.

Sharing with you some photos I took of our orders. It didn't take a long time for them to serve the orders as these are already cooked and prepared, they just have to scoop and then serve.

My mother requested that her hot chocolate be served really hot. She is a fan of hot drinks and would often complain when she is served with a warm one just like the previous visit. So when her order was served, she was glad that it was indeed hot. They serve them in wooden tableware too!

This is called Kutsinta.
The hot chocolate.



At first we ordered only a few but then we added some more because it was not enough, I was really hungry! Opps!


We paid only less than Php 200, I bought a pack of biscuits too for my husband who didn't come with us. We went back to the site after having snacks and then went back home as well afterwards. Next time, I will share with you the view of the site from the shore area. They got access to a short beach too which we are planning to go soon.

That's it for today! Thanks for reading!



xoxo,
junebride

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency