Wednesday Walk - A Walk On Some East Coast Beaches on a Windy Day.

Last weekend my wife and I decided to go down to get some photos of the ocean.

It was a cloudy, windy day and quite chilly. But I know when the wind is blowing it often gives the opportunity to get some nice photos.

Now if we can have some fun first, let me tell you where we went.

We went to the South Coast of the East Coast of South Africa...lol.

Yes, we live in Durban, which is situated on the East Coast of South Africa in Kwazulu Natal.

But here in Kwazulu Natal, the area above (North of) Durban, going up towards Mozambique, is known as the North Coast. And the area below (South of) Durban, going towards the Eastern Cape, is known as the South Coast.

So we went to the South Coast of the East Coast...lol.

I love going down South rather than up North. To me, it is just as if the surf gets bigger the further you move down to the South.

By the time you reach Margate and further down until you cross over into the Eastern Cape, it is known as the Wild Coast.

Warner Beach

But we didn't go that far though. Our first stop was in Warner Beach. A small beach within the Amanzimtoti area, about 15 KM South of Durban.

Arriving at the beach, this little walkway takes you down to the beach.

DSC_0641.jpg

Once on the beach, I couldn't help but notice these two odd poles sticking out. I have no idea what purpose they might have served once upon a time or what they are there for...besides for getting my attention...lol.

DSC_0604.jpg

Warner Beach is a very popular beach for deepsea fishermen to launch their boats from.

I often love to watch them launching their boats.

The boat, still on its trailer, would get hooked up to a tractor, which then takes it down to the water. It will then be pushed into the surf until it is deep enough to be released from the trailer.

From there, it is a matter of timing and skill, to take the boat through the surf and then out to the deep blue sea.

On their return, they would come to just behind where the surf is breaking...

Again...waiting for the right moment, with timing and skill, they would then wait for the right moment to work in harmony with the surf and open up the throttles to skid out onto the beach.

These photos were taken where they normally launch the boats. They enter just outside of the furthest beacon. You can also see the sign indicating this as the launching spot closer to me on the right...

Today was obviously out of the question... No boats to be launched in this weather...

DSC_0629.jpg

DSC_0630.jpg

From there we went down further south to Umkomaas, which is about another 20 KM down South.

Umkomaas

Umkomaas is a very small town on the South Coast but is well-known for its scuba-diving school.

The scuba-diving school is situated on a beautiful rocky beach.

These photos show the beach right next to the scuba-diving school.

DSC_0656 (1).jpg

DSC_0657.jpg

At the bottom of the scuba-diving school, this wall extends out onto the rocks.

I stand to be corrected, but from what I've heard, the area behind the wall forms part of the training area where they train potential scuba divers before they take them out to sea.

DSC_0658.jpg

DSC_0667.jpg

Here at Umkomaas, it was so windy that my wife preferred to wait in the car for me.

So I went down to the beach alone, but fortunately, I could follow my own tracks to find my way back to the car park...lol.

DSC_0677.jpg

As you can see...lots of cars in the car park, but not a soul on the beach...

From here I decided to go down further, towards where the Umkomazi river mounts into the ocean (also a popular fishing spot).

I couldn't resist taking this photo on our way to the river.

DSC_0679.jpg

At the mount of the river, the railway line crosses the river and you can pass through under the bridge to another parking area.

From there I got this shot of the ocean from behind the bridge.

DSC_0683.jpg

This railway line...going up towards Durban.

DSC_0686.jpg

The Umkomazi river coming down towards the ocean...

DSC_0684.jpg

Moving up in Umkomaas, a little away from the ocean, I got this photo of the Umkomazi river flowing past the little town, towards the ocean. The bridge crossing the river that you can see in the distance is the freeway coming from the Eastern Cape towards Durban.

DSC_0687.jpg

And that was it for the day.

I hope you enjoyed my photos.

Thank you for reading my post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency