A walk at Dataran Tun Tuanku Bujang aka Sibu Town Square

Welcome to #WednesdayWalk, an initiative by @tattoodjay, whereby we get to write on our walk of all sorts.

During my recent trip back to my hometown, I had a chance to walk at this huge space called Dataran Tun Tuanku Bujang. We usually just called it Sibu Town Square because it has a pathway design in square-shaped. Too bad I do not have a drone, or else I can capture the photo from above to show you.

The 32-acre town square is considered as one of the tourist spot in Sibu Town although many also commented that there isn't anything special to explore if there is no event held. Due to its open space, it is being used for many leisure activities. I remembered waking up early in the morning on Saturday to come here to join a morning exercise organised by government to encourage young people to exercise every morning. Waking up at 5am for exercising was very normal for most Sibu people that time, not sure about now though.


Location: Jln Bujang Suntong, Pekan Sibu, 96000 Sibu, Sarawak


The Majestic Swans

Sibu Town is also called a Swan City, meaning the bird swan is our city's icon. Hence, a few tourist spot here will have swan stature. Here at Sibu Town Square, you will spot a huge statue of a pair of swan, beautifully carved. Of course, we must take photo with the swans!


Next

The center of Dataran Tun Tuanku Bujang

Here is the center of the Sibu Town Square where you can see a big stage for performance or to stage up any event. I used to visualise myself giving exercises instructions on stage with my teachers. Lol. Behind this center stage is the famous mall called Wisma Sanyan, one of our tallest buildings in Sibu. Considering for a small town, this height is super impressive.

Side angle of the stage

Then...

The stature of a pair of horses.

I really do not know what are the mensing of the horses except bravery and speed. But the are carvings of words stated who donated the amount for building this beauty.

Four pillars

Then, we have four of this pillar at the four corners of the square pathways. One of the pillar has one stall selling ice cream too.


I felt very happy after successfully making steps on this huge place. #makemeswile

I love the colourful pathway up to the side of this particular pillar, which will lead us to a sheltered pathway, connecting to Wisma Sanyan behind this Sibu Town Square.

Corridor Chuang

There was also a huge big gate, we called it corridor Chuang, just beside the Sibu Town Square, another spot for people to walk or to have some meaningful events. Many taichi group will have their exercise here in the morning. Occasionally, you will see kpop dancers practicing their dances here too.



A huge marble stone at the side too explaining what the Brooke Fortress is for. I am not good in history so I really can't explain much.


Lastly, I took photo of them here after we finished our walk at Sibu Town Square. This is where the link is to the building mall behind the Dataran, off we went to Wisma Sanyan.



Overall, it was a super sun-scorching hot walk. Non of us opened up umbrella because we wanted to admire everything without being blocked. However, I felt some sunburn after the walk. So, if you want to walk or jog here, I will suggest to come at 7am! That will be a breeze cool walk. No worries, at Sibu, it is already super bright at 6:30am.


.
.
.
.
.
.
📷📷📷
All images are mine unless stated otherwise, photos are taken using my phone Hua Wei P20.

img_0.8886483932437368
img_0.3064244915296772Hello there, I am the lady behind this little space of my blog in this awesome vast Hive blockchain. Often, when I blog, read, curate and get to know new people, I feel that I am no longer stucked inside the four-wall of my apartment, but rather, I am travelling all across the world, just like a little heaven-on-earth experience. Hope you enjoy reading this snippet of my life as I enjoy exploring yours. Thank you for swinging by.

img_0.6393366722164829

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency