Light years away

IMG_6457.jpg


I am in Athens, since last night and the first walk in the city that I grew up and lived for a huge part of my life, had to be with a camera on my hand :)

Not only because I haven't been here for while and I kind of missed it but also because I am walking in one of its most beautiful and historic parts!

Thissio - Monastiraki - Agora is one of my favorite routes in Athens and the day was just brilliant for taking pictures!

Join me in the heart of Athens :)

IMG_6444.jpg

IMG_6447.jpg

IMG_6450.jpg



IMG_6455.jpg


Right after the metro station in Thissio, I took Adrianou street which is one road above the famous flee market of Monastiraki. I have written a post about that market in the past but today I preferred the sunny pedestrian of Adrianou with the wonderful view on archeological sites and the Acropolis of Athens itself (another major historical gem of the city that I have told you about, in another post).

Anyway been so close to the flee market means many random street vendors selling all kinds of used stuff, like that Lubitel Russian camera, above!

IMG_6459.jpg

IMG_6462.jpg

IMG_6464.jpg

IMG_6467.jpg


Next stop is Monastiraki square. More vendors, more people more ancient history! This is a noisy, vibrant part of the city that I like a lot. In just one neighborhood you can grasp all the aspects of the city. From the ancient glory, that goes thousands of years back, to the violent modernizing of the seventies and the kitsch business opportunities that flourished with the coming of tourism.



IMG_6472.jpg

IMG_6477.jpg

IMG_6478.jpg

IMG_6481.jpg


It is interesting in a surreal way how the place around ancient Agora (meaning market in Greek), has become a vivid market in our days. Of course the ancient concept of a market is light years away from the contemporary consumerism but still, even as a namesake, I find it charmingly ironic :)

IMG_6489.jpg

IMG_6494.jpg

IMG_6496.jpg



IMG_6519.jpg


IMG_6521.jpg


This is my contribution to the #wednesdaywalk challenge, hosted by @tattoodjay!

The camera that I used is a Canon EOS 850D with an EF-S 18-135mm lens attached. I edited the photographs in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now