Sparkles like Diamonds


winter 2.jpg


Hail to the beauty of this glorious day! Oh, there is nothing to fear, I say. For the winter is melting away today; arranging for the unsympathetic cold of the morrow. Behold! I decided not to care. For there are things much more important than the weather report. It won't stop me from living and breathing this glorious day in.


IMG_0133.JPG


Ice, ice, baby! Oh, the sunshine has greeted us with a frosty look, but, I turn my face the other way, ignoring the obvious. The first snow of the season! Whose idea was it to mix it with rain and throw a litle colod over it all? Even in its less than perfect state. I have to admit, I am grateful for this day. Every day is a gift. Every day. Even if you have to shovel your way out of it to find it.

Center Crest.png

Her words were unspoken whilst the snow rained upon her shoulders of stone; but I believe there was a smile of sunshine in her eyes when the first of day began to break.


ice statue.jpg


"Today is a brand new day. A fresh start. Replace any negativity with positive. Think happy thoughts. Exercise. Drink lots of water. Fill your body with fuel. Healthy is happy. Inspire yourself. Create. Laugh. Play. Love. Learn. Give someone a compliment. Make a new friend. Do a random act of kindness, it creates good karma. Take chances and finally start living life to its fullest. But no matter what’s thrown at you today, smile and remember, tomorrow’s always a fresh new start" Author Unknown


IMG_0117.JPG


Some places were plowed and cleaned up, some were not. There was a layer of snow left on the trees and it had gotten cool enough to keep it in place. Later today, it would probably melt and turn those piles of snow into a puddle. I decided to give it a go and see if I wouldn't slide all the way.


IMG_0093.JPG


The snow had drifted here, and there were places with inches and some where there was more than that. Kids were starting to build snowforts and snowmen. You could hear the sound of joy running through the neighborhood. I answered the call. :)


IMG_0071.JPG


The gentle look of snow on the trees, all is calm, all is right. It gives me a sense of beauty and lovliness. I will admit that the blizzard cought them a little off guard in the Washington, DC metro area. The road to Washington, DC became inpassable and people were stranded in their cars without food and water overnight. A Schmidts Bread truck got permission to open up the back of his truck and pass out loaves of bread to people, to stave off the hunger.Some of those parts of the road had over a foot of snow on them. Hey! We don't fool around with the small stuff here. One of the biggest problems is the blizzard started after commuters had hit the road. It doesn't pay to be the early bird in this case.


IMG_0168.JPG


I want to thank @tattoodjay for hosting the #WednesdayWalk challenge! Show where you walked today, I want to see what you got to see. I hope you had a fabulous time and I think we should meet up here again next week! Until then, keep on smiling!! If you want to do the challenge, drop him a link on his #WedensdayWalk post so he can try to visit yours! Whatever your day looks like, it is worth a walk through it. You can't always have sunshine and rainbows, but, you can always have a #WednessdayWalk!


Ice, ice, baby. Dripping off a tree.The warm weather that we had up until this point was having a hard time supporting the ice and snow. It started to melt, and the walkways all started to melt right away. Not fast enough, I am afraid. If you didn't get it off immediately, it will catch a refreeze for tonighht. Oh, winter! You keep me on my toes, but, then, you give me reason to make some hot cocoa and snuggle up to something cozy by the fireplace.


winter 9.jpg


“He who cannot put his thoughts on ice should not enter into the heat of dispute.” Friedrich Nietzsche


winter.jpg


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


winter 8.jpg


It came...it went... it never said good-bye.

A short lived blizzard of sorts that was a total white out. The wind was howling, the trees were shaking. After all this 70 degree weather, it's official. It is winter. Can you spot the stop sign in the picture? This was just before morning broke and the lighting was, let's call it interesting. It wasn't really a blizzard, just a quick shower of snow. I wasn't even sure there would be a walk at this point.

Even though it's dark and cold there is always a shade of light ― Angela Bernabe


Snow falling soundlessly in the middle of the night will always fill my heart with sweet clarity ― Novala Takemoto

20201121_162447ab denise 2.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
70 Comments
Ecency