A walk with beautiful views from the Asturian mountains

Dear friends of the #wednesdaywalk community, this time I wanted to share with you a walk I took last Saturday near my mother's house.

Saturday afternoon, after days of rain in the region, the day finally broke and I was able to enjoy some sunshine. Encouraged to use my new camera for the first time, I decided to go near the Alto de la Vara (El Franco-Asturias).

In order to show you the top of the mountain, I share with you a picture taken this summer, being the mountain where I went for a walk the one in the central area of the picture, whose clouds cover the windmills on the mountain.

In order to take a walk, instead of going to the viewpoint by car, I decided to park my car on the side of a road 2 kilometers away from the place I had thought of as the end point of my walk.

Once I parked my car and walked for about 10 minutes, I arrived at a steep climb of stones that led me to the top of the mountain where 3 windmills are located.

On both sides of this hard climb with loose stones that hinder the ascent there is diverse vegetation such as eucalyptus, pines and also bushes. One thing that caught my attention is that despite being in autumn these bushes had yellow flowers and it was a nice opportunity to practice with the macro photography function of my new Sony Alpha 6000L camera. I have to say, that with a little patience, I think I managed to keep my pulse and focus well to get the macro shot.

Once these pictures were taken, I continued ascending the stone path, approaching the first of the windmills, which made a very characteristic buzzing sound with the passage of the propellers.

From the vicinity of this first windmill, the photographs I took were oriented northeast and east from the mountain. From this location you can see the coast of Navia, the Abredo cheese factory and also the entire adjacent valley in which there is a large windmill park.

In order to take some photos oriented to the north and northwest, I followed the road to the vicinity of the other two windmills.

Once I reached this other part of the mountain, the views were even more beautiful. I think influenced by the fact that from this side of the mountain one of those houses you can see is my mother's house. In these photos you can see the coast of Asturias with the Cantabrian Sea in the background.

After a few minutes contemplating the landscape, I decided to make the reverse path that took me back to the initial mill. When I turned around, I contemplated how beautiful are the successions of mountains that can be seen from this viewpoint when one is oriented to the south. In this way what I share with you is a general view of the Cantabrian mountain range.

As you can see, the area where my mother has her house and where I grew up, is a privileged area because you have a distance of less than 10 kilometers between the sea and the mountains and you can combine mountain and sea activities in the same day if necessary.

Finally, before putting my camera away because of the danger of slipping on the stone path, I took a couple of final pictures of the vegetation that surrounds the path and that there is in all this environment.

I hope you liked this walk with beautiful landscapes in the region of Asturias.

Own photograph taken with my camera Sony Alpha 6000L.

Cover, separators and banner created with www.canva.com (free version).

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency