Wednesday Walk - SNAKE AND ASPARAGUS AROUND THE PINES AT THE EDGE OF TOWN

The weather was nice, and I went for a walk, like most of the time lately - not far from home.

p1730880_malo.jpg

I was wandering through pine groves and meadows, a kilometer from the last houses of my hometown ...

dsc02504_malo.jpg

... on the small hill with a nice view on Liznjan, the neighboring village.

dsc02497_malo.jpg

I found some edible wild asparagus sprouts ... a nice quantity of those sprouts actually ... about 50 Dollars worth, in local currency on the vegetable market in Pula. But I won't sell it :=D this is for personal and small circle of friends use only.

p1730871i72_dvostruko.jpg

As you saw on the opening shot, I encountered a small snake along the way ...

p1730852_malo.jpg

... among the dry branches of some fallen tree.

p1730865_malo.jpg

This is the Zamenis longissimus ...

p1730875_malo.jpg

... called also The Aesculapian snake. It's among the largest European snakes, it can grow up to 2 meters ... which is far from enormous :), but that's how the snakes here are ... and most people are grateful for this shortened evolutionary outcome ... not me though, I would like to encounter a Titanoboa for a change.

dsc02442_malo.jpg

Dry cones also looked pretty cool ...

dsc02443_malo.jpg

... a bit like a bunch of trilobites or something like that.

dsc06273_malo.jpg

In the absence of giant reptiles ...

dsc06282_malo.jpg

... this curved branch was the closest thing to a Titanoboa that I could find.

dsc06281_malo.jpg

You can encounter some very cool shapes among the old, contorted pines.

p1730881_samo_malo.jpg

This is some high transmitter not far from there ... it looked slightly otherworldly, in the way that otherworldly stuff used to be presented in old Science fiction, old movies, comics and book illustrations ... so I changed the scene a bit through Photoshop, to make it match my vision.

dsc02520_malo.jpg

This is the Meloe violaceus blister beetle, one of the most common insect encounters in the very early spring.

dsc02338_malo.jpg

And now, with this young plant sprouting from the hole in the dead tree ...

dsc02334_malo.jpg

... and the last, monochrome look at the scenery ... is time to end this walk. As always on Wednesday, here on HIVE, the photographs are my work - THE END.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency