Quid Pro Quo

I suffer a lack of comfort today with a migraine that snuck up on me this morning and persists through the evening.

The time is 7:47 p.m. Today I worked on the phones handling incoming customer service calls for a major Pennsylvania health insurance company. I work from home in my bedroom. I was assigned a new trainee Friday.

This week the trainee listens to my calls, takes notes, and asks questions. The situation works quid-pro-quo because the system that she will be in exclusively is also the system I received limited training with. The trainee has several months of training using only the new system and will have no access to a secondary system. The same system which has been my only system for years. The company plans to phase the old software out.

The trainee answers some questions for me regarding where to locate information using the new system so that I can complete the tasks using this system which she will have access to. There is a learning curve for us both, but the arrangement seems to be working.

Fortunately, she is understanding regarding my migraine. I took some of my prescription medication right away, hoping to eliminate it, or at least control the migraine. The medication didn't manage to push back the migraine so that I could work. The trainee thoughts that I was going to leave for the rest of the day due to the migraine, but I assure her I would power through and asked her to be patient with me because I may show forgetfulness. She was very attentive and assisted me if I needed anything during a phone call.

The migraine was manageable until I completed work. Jeff made pizzas out of leftover rolls. We ate and I did dinner dishes. Jeff's friend phoned and he went to eat tacos with him. Now I sit and post with you.

Despite my lack of comfort, I enjoy the silence of the empty house. The animals are all resting; two dogs and a cat. I can hear the musical sound of the water fountain that hangs on the porch outside the open living room door. Tree frogs are chirping and the mantle clock ticks out the seconds.

My rib feels slightly better than the past two days. I switched the ice pack to the back of my neck that was laying on my ribcage at this same time last night. Small improvements matter.

The photo is my cat Newt captured using my Samsung Galaxy Note10 S22 Ultra Plus 5G.

I'm alive and thriving on this taco Tuesday. I hope that you are well.
Thank you for reading.

This is my five-minute freewrite
using prompt lack of comfort by @felt.buzz. I challenge you to join the challenge and add @freewritehouse for regular contests!

Tuesday is Burn Alive day in the Alive Tribe. I will burn Alive to promote this story. You can join the Alive Tribe an opportunity to win Alive!

#IAmAliveChallenge join us on Discord, and check out our Hive Community.
Made in Canva


rose7.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency