Power Outage

Hello friends and readers!
I'm just stopping in to update you on our current situation. Friday we went to dinner. I thought we were going to a new restaurant. The old restaurant, Canon's Stake House, served delicious and very pricey meals. We could eat there very often because we knew each meal would end up being over one hundred dollars per person.

We were heading to The Firehouse because they're known for good food in downtown Meadville. As we came to an intersection, Jeff looked to the right and saw Canons is now called Sparks. We discussed going there to eat instead. I pulled the restaurant up online to see if I could see a menu. I could not find a website. We decided to go in and look at the menu. What we found the owner named John who exuberantly welcomed us and explained that it was a private party preview of the food. There will be a Grand Opening on Monday for Sparks.

John surprised us with four Swedish-style meatballs to taste. They were some of the best meatballs I've had. He let us review the menu, which includes some tasty looks options, including halushka (cabbage and noodles) John introduced us to his wife, Shannon. John and Shannon were married last April.

We were invited to have a drink. I asked for a soda, and my husband ordered scotch. John surprised us with a steaming dish of meatballs we tasted and two pieces of grilled sourdough bread.

Jeff and I had intended to go out to dinner. I think John wanted to keep us there for a little while to encourage us to return. Half of the generous dish of meatballs and a slice of the bread was enough, on top of the other two meatballs I had already eaten to fill my stomach.

Halfway through our visit, I got a phone call from my friend and neighbor. She was calling to find out if we had lost electric power. I told her that we were not home, but I thanked her for letting us know.

The owners needed to close up the restaurant to go home to their four dogs, four cats, and twelve chickens so we bid them good night. Once we left there I no longer felt hungry, and Jeff decided he would just fix salmon for himself at home after hooking up our generator.

The power is still down today, and Jeff has added gas a couple of times. He went to Harbor Freight and purchased a second generator to run power for the man who rents the apartment connected to our apartment. The cost was approximately $1200 but now we have backup power for that apartment, too.

Power is estimated to be restored tomorrow around six p.m. The storm yesterday included heavy winds that took trees and power lines out. We are so very grateful for the generators, and the renter was very grateful, too. Everyone will sleep warm.

I cooked Jeff's favorite meal this evening.


He loves my homemade meatloaf. He picked up some frozen French fries that we cooked in the air fryer.

On Saturday the Alive community shares interaction. Here are a couple of posts I enjoyed.

@houhou writes a delightful story on a freewrite prompt.
@houhou/5-minute-freewrite-cheese-runner

@myjob makes poetry from the freewrite prompt.
@myjob/5-minute-freewrite-2244-prompt-cheese-runner

@egbre is learning music!
@egbre/egbre-is-alive-learning-to

@ashlinn is happy about the day and shares a gorgeous sunrise before going to work.
@ashlinn/11-january-2024

I'm Alive and Thriving. I decided to draw since no power meant i couldn't do laundry or clean house today. This is my work in progress for the day. I purchased a mechanical pencil kit that I wanted to play with. After I sketched the mouse I began coloring my sketch in using Prismacolor colored pencils.

#IAmAliveChallenge join us on Discord, and check out our Hive Community.
Made in Canva


rose7.png

credit @tattooedjay

Thank you for reading 📚 ❤️ 🙏

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments
Ecency