4.18.2023 Tuesday Challenges

It's Tuesday and the snow has been back for two days after a beautiful three days of 70-80F temperatures. It's been a challenging week already.

Today I received a low score on one appraisal and I was marked down on two additional appraisals for my call closing. The company recently changed how quality scores our appraisals, but didn't share the new standards with those of us who receive the appraisals. This has sent a wave of discouragement through the ranks.

To exacerbate my already strained mood, I was messaged by a trainer that I was scheduled to be observed all day while working. I began the day with three representatives observing me and after lunch, my supervisor informed me that two more trainees were added to observe me taking calls.

I sent up a prayer SOS to God because I didn't want to feel stressed. It's difficult not to feel like a bug under a microscope. Add to the stress the fact that the system they are being trained on, and one of two systems I work on daily, is beta.

Multiple functions the new representatives will encounter while taking calls they will not be able to perform tasks that I do because they will not be trained on the use of the standard (original) system.

I tried to perform as much research in the beta system as I could since the representatives exclusively are using it. Any other function currently performed by representatives in the current customer service software will need to be completed by a lead (so I have been told).

I was relieved to end the day and the trainee observations. My ego is still smarting from the appraisals I received that were docked points. Getting docked on quality scores can jeopardize my metrics for the next vacation scheduling and for weekly schedule selections which are redone every six months. I can take comfort in knowing it's not just personal experience, other representatives have voiced their displeasure and frustration with the changes of processes, too, but it doesn’t sit any better with me.

Ultimately, experience is on my side and I am confident in my ability in the current position. I have looked at internal postings to see what else may be available besides this role and I'm keeping options open.

Have you handled a similar work challenge? How did you respond and what came of your response?

Thank you for reading 📚.

#IAmAliveChallenge join us on Discord, and check out our Hive Community.
Made in Canva


rose7.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency