This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

A Cultural Festival

Hi everyone............ Greetings to you guys all from @youngmiliki👍 and I hope we all enjoyed our weekend✌️💯!.

Today I will be sharing with you beautiful people of #hive-learners. Week-02 edition-01 topic titled A Cultural Festival.

Every country around the world🌍 has its own cultural festival and how is been celebrated in different season of the year and in Nigeria🇳🇬 today we also have many cultural festival celebrated. Today I will like to take you guys down to a place called food-basket of the nation (Benue state)..
Benue state is the nation's acclaimed food basket because of its rich agricultural produce which include Yam, Rice, Beans, Cassava, Sweet-potato, Maize, Soybean, Millet cocoyam etc and Benue state has seven (7) ethnic groups with different cultural heritage and three (3) languages. the tiv, the idoma, and the igede.

wpid-img_20140730_080129.jpg
Source

The picture above explain the three(3) languages in Benue state.the lady on white and black represent the tiv people and the lady on red and black represent the idoma people while the blue and white represent the igede people.

How my igede people celebrate their new yam festival (igede agba). The new yam festival (igede agba) is celebrated in the month of September every year, and it could be the 1st day of the month or 5th day of the month depending on the day. The reason for the new yam festival (igede agba)hl is to thank the gods of the land for bumper harvest before they officially begin to eat the new yam and with that the celebration is always fun to the igede people, people always traveled back to their versus villages just for the fun of the new yam festival.

EhK3UYSXcAU0Z_Z.jpg
Source

On that day a lot of activities include eating of roasted yam with palm oil, pounded yam with any soup of your choice, cultural music/dancing, and other forms of cultural display and the occasion also witness the drinking of local brewed drinks from millet and guinea-corn called oburukutu, and other different alcohol.

   Why I enjoy the new yam festival celebration.

To me I enjoy the new yam festival because it make me and my family to travel to my village and I get to know more about my traditions so I will like it to continue.
Thank you guys and I wish each and everyone of you a beautiful week. God bless you all