Commitment Quandary: A Teacher's Dilemma

The importance of commitment is enormous, and so it can never be overemphasized because its presence in any project will bring about great success that isn't let down or quenched due to barriers or challenges, as the level of commitment literally breaks bonds, but in a situation where commitment isn't available, failure definitely looms in the corner, so with that in mind, I'll love to share one of my life experiences that revolves around zero commitment.

6_20240131_171224_0002.png

Most people who follow my blog would by now know that I'm a teacher, and as a teacher, one of our core values and expectations is to do all it takes to make sure the learners understand what they've been taught and to have a basic educational foundation before graduating from the school. So aside from the normal classroom knowledge acquisition, we've got diverse other means via which we can help these students understand the lessons more.

Unfortunately, most students hardly understand or pay attention to their studies, and while, in truth, we teachers can be blamed for that, the parents and society also have to take a share of the blame. Well, without deviating from the subject matter of this post, the school management decided to organize extra moral lessons that span beyond the normal school hours for the students so they can spend more time learning.

The management also met with the parents and relayed the plans to them, and an agreement was reached on the amount that would be paid per student for the extra moral lessons, meaning we, the teachers, wouldn't be staying in the school beyond the agreed time to teach for free but would be paid for the effort put in.

Well, to cut a long story short, this idea was first implemented last year, and we, the teachers, were given a lesson time table to work with and stay an extra two hours after the normal closing hour in the school to do the lesson, and we agreed and did it diligently to the best of our ability.

But at the end of the day, when the term was over and we were to be paid our wages for the lessons we conducted throughout the first two terms of last year, the management organized a meeting and informed us that we, the teachers, would have to share 35% of the entire money earned from the lesson, while the remaining 65% would be for the school and the management.

1_20240131_171223_0000.png
This raised an uproar among everyone in the meeting, but at the end of the day, they stuck with their decision and insisted that's how the money would be paid. I was given an envelope that contained my money, and all I saw inside was just 6,000 naira. I was so furious that I worked for 5 days a week for over 6 months to be paid just 6,000 naira, which is almost equivalent to $5.

Out of disappointment and anger, I made up my mind never to participate in such lessons again, so when another term began this year in January and we were told that another lesson would commence immediately this month, unlike how they gave an option for whoever wasn't interested to signify for the reminder of the last three-month academic section of last year, they didn't request our opinion this time around; instead, they said we must all participate and put in 100% commitment.

Already in my mind, I was furious and had already made up my mind that either they make it optional or not, I won't be committed to the lesson. At the end of the day, the stated time in my appointment letter is 2 p.m., so I'd rather be somewhere else hustling for those two hours or just relaxing in my house than to work tirelessly for months and be paid peanuts for the job done.

So fast forward to how the term has been moving forward; we're presently in week 4, and I've only attended the lesson avenue once since it all began. On most days, I basically just pack my bags and leave immediately; it's 2 p.m.; I can't be held responsible for not doing the lesson because it's not stated in my employment agreement.

So I'd rather be at home relaxing than working for someone else who doesn't even enter the class to loot most of my reward and give me peanuts in return for the job done. If you think my service is pegged to money and what I did isn't right, that's fine; it's your opinion, but I hope you know that regardless of whether I take the money or not, the school management will still take the money and do it as they see fit.

Over the past four weeks that the lesson has been on, I've been called upon and queried on multiple occasions requesting why I've not been active or committed to the lesson, and all I told them is that I can't afford to be there because I've got other commitments to give my attention during the time set for the extra moral lessons.
5_20240131_171223_0001.png
It hasn't gone down well with them, but at the end of the day, there's nothing they can do because I attend to my duties diligently during normal work hours, so there's no excuse to punish me or report me to our superior in the state office.

And then it's worthy of noting that I'm not the only teacher who ditches the lesson; there are few others who did like me, and even those who participate still grumble, but then I'd rather invest my time elsewhere to make ends meet for myself and my family during these tough times in my country than work and let someone else rip the benefits and give me peanuts for my hard labor and services, so that's why I'm not committed to the lesson.

That's about it for now. I hope you enjoyed the read and learned a thing or two. Do have a wonderful day and stay blessed.


Thumbnails designed on canva


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency