THE TIRING JOURNEY

Alexander popov

THE JOURNEY

On one fine Saturday morning in May in the year 2013, I and my aunt woke up as early as4am, we had to do a round check of the thing that we had packed the previous night, After zipping up the last bag, we went to take our bath and prepared ourselves for the journey ahead, it was a 7-8hour to port-Harcourt from Lagos, it was my first time visiting the state, so I already knew we needed to be out of the house before six am to take the first bus out of Lagos, so we had already booked a taxi that would take our things to the bus park, the taxi driver was waiting outside my aunt's house when we got outside.
On arriving at the park around a few minutes past six am, we offloaded our bags from the trunk of the taxi, my aunt went ahead to buy our tickets for the bus, anytime I am traveling, I am always eager to board the bus, cause when the bus takes off on time, if he is a very good driver, we would arrive Port-Harcourt before five pm, God being so good we didn't have to wait long, we were set to leave the park after our bags had been loaded in the bus.

Our bus left the park before 7 am which was a great headstart for us, in my mind at least we would get to port-Harcourt before 5 pm if the Bayelsa-rivers state bad road didn't slow us down. As we left Lagos completely, I called my mum and told her we were at Ogun state and that we left early, that hopefully, we would arrive on time before nightfall, Only if I could tell the future then I would have mentally prepared myself for such a tiring and stressful journey.

When we got to ORE road, (Benin city), we were at a standstill, I was like maybe it's the normal traffic on the road when 20 minutes turned to an hour, we were still at the spot we were, we were afraid that a robbery might be going on at the front, so the driver called the fellow driver who had started before him, he also said he was in the traffic jam also and he had left Lagos since 5 am cause he was a logistics driver. What would have been an eight-hour journey or less from where we were turned out to be the worst journey I embark on, Well at the time all the men in our bus and other buses, all went out to check what the problem was and all tried to help the big trailer that had fallen on the road, and the distance where the incident happened was very far from where our bus was, eventually, everything was sorted out but the time was already fast spent, it was already past 6 pm and we had not even gotten halfway to our journey, we that would have arrived our destination at the time and even be resting or doing something else at that time were just beginning the journey.

Thank God we arrived safely, cause that was the most important thing, we arrived at 1 am in the midnight, and were very tired. Thank God we had someone who came to pick us up, if not we would have had no option but to sleep at the bus park with the other passengers who couldn't find their way to their respective homes.
That journey was one I could and can never forget.

This is my entry to the hive learners contest week27edition2 ,find link here

Thanks for stopping by
treasure's BLOG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency