OPPORTUNITIES LOST AND GAINED

Diego PH

Hello to everyone from this side, it's a pleasant evening. Today has been a little hard for me because I haven't had time to think about myself. I just have to write anyways, and I'm always thrilled when I see prompts from hive learners.

Opportunity i might have lost.

There was a time when I got a job in a very large company, it was like a dream job, it meant everything to me, but when I told my friends about it, some had something to say about how stressful it would be and how I might not really enjoy working there, but I didn't have a job to do, and I also needed something that could gimme funds even if it was monthly, So I went to the interview that was scheduled for new staff. Because Lagos State was the epicenter of traffic, I arrived late on my first day, the day of the interview, not because I had slept in, but rather because traffic had caused me to wait in the bus for too long.

I arrived at the location and noticed a large number of individuals, which made me wonder, "Didn't they send me the letter to indicate I got the job?" I was told I scribbled my name down late; I was meant to be at the building before 8 am, but I arrived there after 9 am. I was perplexed at this point. When it was my turn to walk into the office, I instantly sat down. I was therefore eliminated only for being late.
When I arrived home, I was upset with my friends because I felt like they had cursed me into losing the job, which would have been a huge chance for me. I remembered what they had said.

One opportunity i grabbed

I used to give private home lessons for kids, but I only had one parent who paid very little because she was my mom's friend and I liked the daughter because she was a really bright girl, so I did it out of the kindness of my heart.

One day the woman told me she found someone she wanted me to work for, the girl I was to teach was 9 years old at the time, the parent had just relocated from Italy, at first it was difficult keeping up with her accent, but after a while, I would relate with her well, we got very close, I would teach and she would listen, when I got my first salary from her mother, I was very happy, because there was no job I could do at the time that would pay such an amount,I was relieved that I didn't turn down the job because of the girl's accent.

I became so close to this girl that she wouldn't let me go when her parents weren't home; she would ask me to stay with her until her parents returned home; she was such a sweetheart, and the parents were extremely nice people who appreciated anyone who would go above and beyond for them. I was relieved to have the position; else, I would not have met Fendi (thats her name). It was a pleasure to work for them.

This is my entry for the Hive Learners contests; Hope you enjoyed reading.
Thanks for stopping here

Designed on canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency