INTRODUCTORY POST - GET TO KNOW ME

Look who is a newbie on the Hive community. Many thanks to @hivebootcamp for the relentless effort to bring me here. The resources provided were too helpful. They probably would have gotten tired of my questions if not for the pre-recorded videos.

The moment I was told about Hive, I knew I will love it here. For someone like me who loves to put her thoughts and ideas into writing, Hive will definitely be my go-to-place.

My name is Miracle Shadare

3E899648-C7CA-4C54-88F3-72F9B0F13C00.jpeg

I am a graduate of the University of Ilorin. I am one of the 1111 people who have always wanted to study Medicine, coupled with my mother desiring it for one of her children. After so many attempts, guess what I ended up studying? Zoology. I got to love this course at my final year although I have always known I had little to nothing to do with it.

I wasn't born with a silver spoon and so I had to start a side hustle in school to sustain myself alongside what I got from home. My first trade was pocket perfumes that was sold for #500. I would take it to classes and convince people to buy. We got on a long break after 300 level and my mum wanted me to learn a skill as idleness was never an option in our home. I had a friend who was into leather works and he was willing to teach me so I decided to venture into it. It was indeed a very lucrative business but it was work.

13571EF1-F0B0-46BD-AE53-834EA19B425E.jpeg

I was using an Infinix Hot 8 then, so it made picture taking and sales easy for me at that time. I got referrals and made money. School resumed and I couldn't make bags as I normally would because I had no machine in school. Final year came and I got too serious with school that I didn't even think of a business to do.

I graduated in 2019, and was lucky to have my NYSC during covid in 2020. That was a year in my life that I will love to re-write or restructure if I had the opportunity. I did almost nothing that year, I was basically enjoying life when I could have upskilled myself thoroughly or did something worthwhile with my time. Although, I had taken courses on Human Resource Management (HRM), Health, Safety and Environment Management (HSE) and Project Management (PM) but I could have done more.

Just about two (2) months after NYSC, I applied for the role of a Human Resource Manager at an IT company but was offered the post of a Front Desk Officer which I took. Infact, I took it joyfully as that was my first office job and I wasn't even so sure I could work as an HR as I had no experience whatsoever.

78C2FC57-013C-4775-9967-A51B37AB7066.jpeg

Six months into my role as a Front Desk Officer, I got promoted to the position of Social Media Manager and Program Associate. I will talk extensively on how this was made possible in my next post. In the meantime, I look forward to connecting with creatives, tech bros and sis and many others as I journey on Hive. Thank you for reading my post and do ensure to keep an eye on my next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now