Newbies Task 7: Hive Goals Update and Feedback for the Initiative

hive goals.png
Original Image Source - Modified by @saydie - Fonts used are Open Source

Times have flown so fast that it seems like the initiative was only started yesterday but now, I am writing for the final task so a part of me feels happy that I have made it through here but at the same time sad that it's gonna end, similar to the feeling when watching a fireworks show. But we need to move forward for our next journey. Hello there! @saydie here and this post will be the final task for the Newbies Initiative that will recount my goals and offer some of my feedback about the initiative.

Recounting Hive Goals


image.png

My Current Hive Stats - Source

The first task that this initiative has assigned to us was to set our Hive Goals for the next 2 months and begins on April 10, 2023 so I still have around 2 weeks before the duration that I have set to end. Given that, this are the current status for each of my goals.

Hive Power

Achieve a total of 1000 HP within the next 60 days.

Starting HPCurrent HPHP AddedHP Needed
627.06HP852.966 HP225.906 HP147.034 HP

By the time of this post, its been 44 days since I set my goals of reaching, 1000 Hive Power and so far, I'm only 147.034 HP away from my goal which I believed to be achievable before the end of 60 days time period.

Consistency

Make at least 3 post per week.

Through the duration of the initiative, I currently have a total of 29 post that was made which means that I have made around 4 post every week, 1 more than my initial goal, though last week, I only was able to make 3 since I was sick.

Engagement

Achieve a total of 1000 comments within the next 60 days.

Starting Comment CountCurrent Comment CountComment AddedComment Needed
69290621494

Though I'm only 94 comments away from my goal and is very achievable even this week, I feel that this area is something that I should focus more as I do not made enough engagement to help me boost the number of my followers.

Followers

Get a total of 75 followers within the next 60 days

Starting FollowersCurrent FollowersFollowers AddedFollowers Needed
51631212

This was I'm not confident that I could accomplish by the duration that I set given that I was only at half of it and neither can force people to follow me.

Reputation

Reach 69 Reputation within 60 days.

Previous Rep.Current Rep.Rep. Needed
67.74068.4060.666

I think this one was also hard for me to achieved before the due date of my goals despite me becoming way active more than ever on creating my post and my engagement. Some of my post also does not perform really well although I believed that I have made it to pass a certain quality and visually appealing by creating my own thumbnail and applying markdowns on my post.

image.png

  • What do you think of the Newbies Initiative, and how has it helped your Hive journey?

The Newbies Initiative was a great program with the purpose of teaching people how to be more effective on making their post and help them to avoid the things that a person should not do on Hive. The dedication of the tutors to free their time in order to teach the newbies was something that I really appreciate because they cost time for them which they can just use for themselves but instead choose to teach others.

I might not be able to attend those meetings but I always watched the replay and read through the resources and it becomes a really helpful guide for making my post. I have spent quite some time on hive, making post but without entering the initiative, I might never know that I might be doing actions that are against the guidelines of the Hive Blockchain such as abusing the use of Tipping Tokens or might plagiarize other peoples content or use images without citing the source.

It never also crossed my mind to learn how the security on Hive works and did not take into account that I can be a victim of hacking anytime but with the knowledge on Hive keys and what they are used for, I now have a proper Idea of how to secure my Keys and even if I am a victim of hacking, I still have the option of recovering them because the Newbies Initiative have thought me how to change my Recovery Account so I can use that to retrieve my account.


  • How have the tasks given been helpful?

The task that was given was helpful because it tells how much each of the participants have learn from the tutors and the materials they provide like how teachers conduct examinations to know what their student learns. At the same time. it also provides us with a layout or a pattern on how should we make the Initiative post.


  • What aspects of the Initiative do you believe we could enhance, and how?

When it comes to the aspects of the initiative that could be enhanced, I think that the time for the assignments should arrive earlier so that the participants can spent more time analyzing the materials that they have and improving their post. I appreciate the time that the tutors have spent on the initiative to teach on the newbies but the scheduling was too hard for me given that it was scheduled every Monday at 3: 00 AM and the start of working week so will be needing to have as much rest as possible, but it was understandable because it's still Sunday on different parts of the world so can't really do anything about it unless they add more manpower for different time zones.

When it comes to the task, aside from ladypanda which is the curation account for hive learners, there was also theycallmedan and aleinto that was part of the initiative but I only got 1 of my task upvoted by theycallmedan and none from Aliento but aside from that my task 3-5 did not received any curation despite some of those post being one of the choice for newbies of the week while I believed my other post was also of good quality as it follows all the instructions from the task. While I commend the tutors for their effort, I want to also say that its not an easy task for the newbies to read all the materials and attend to the meetings or watch the replay and also takes dedication on their part so that they can write the best post that they can make so when they saw that the task that they spent time and effort to make did not have the appreciation that they think, it's no wonder that some of them have completely dropped from the program.

That said, we also made other post that are not part of the task posted on the newbies initiative post channel on discord but I'm not sure if any of those have received curation as at least for my post, some of them have been recognized by the by the community where I post them as a quality post and have curated them. I understand that curation was always an option but at least follow up if the post was on a degree of quality in order to help the newbies grow their account.


  • What value do you think you can offer to the initiative?

If there is something that I can contribute to the initiative, it is that I have more than the necessary knowledge about markups and can help them to provide the materials for the subjects relating on markdowns as I already made one that if to want to see, you can just the image bellow.

image.png

When it comes to gaming, I could also help to introduce people to blockchain games, being one that initially start from blockchain games and was only onboarded to hive later though I am 50-50 on whether I should do it or not specially that I am not a financial advisor and joining blockchain games usually includes investing assets to be able to play.


image.png

Conclusion


The initiative was not prefect but despite that, I'm still glad to be part of the initiative and be able to make it through the end. I will always take with me the knowledge that I have learned with this initiative to improve my post and be better. I would also like to thank the tutors for their effort and dedication.

Thank you for reading my last task!

Credits and Links


The Dividers with the Hive logo in this post were created by thepeakstudio and if you like them you can use them for free, the Hive logo is property of https://hive.io

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency